Front Cover
HARVILL SECKER, Oct 1, 2011 - Detective and mystery stories - 288 pages
15 Reviews

In a flat near Reykjavík city centre, a young man lies dead in a pool of blood. There is no sign of a break-in: the only clues are a woman's purple shawl, found under the bed in the next room, and a vial of prescription drugs in the victim´s pocket.

With Detective Erlendur away in a remote part of Iceland, Detective Elínborg, who is already struggling to juggle family life and the relentless demands of her job, is assigned the case. Her investigation into the murdered man's past soon uncovers a squalid tale of double lives, drug dealers and the unsolved disappearance of a young girl many years before.

From its explosive opening, Outrage leads down a trail of hidden violence, psychological brutality and of wrongs that will never be fully righted.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Indridason is a pretty competent writer. - Goodreads
I enjoyed the emotional tenor of the prose. - Goodreads
Okay police procedural. - Goodreads
This is a different Arnaldur writing this piece. - Goodreads

Review: Outrage (Inspector Erlendur #9)

User Review  - Megan Jones - Goodreads

This is the first Indridason novel that I have read and I thoroughly enjoyed it. The plot is excellent, very sad in places but fast moving with plenty of twists and turns in it to keep you entertained ... Read full review

Review: Outrage (Inspector Erlendur #9)

User Review  - Lee - Goodreads

Okay police procedural. Nothing really wrong with it, but only mildly compelling. I'll have forgotten it by tomorrow. The normal character, Erlendur, is out of town, so the female detective Elinborg ... Read full review

All 2 reviews »

About the author (2011)

ARNALDUR INDRIDASON worked for many years as a journalist and critic before he began writing novels. Outside Iceland, he is best known for his crime novels featuring Erlendur, Elínborg and Sigurdur Óli, which are consistent bestsellers across Europe. The series has won numerous awards, including the Nordic Glass Key and the CWA Gold Dagger. His most recent novel is Operation Napoleon.

Bibliographic information