Five centuries of music in Venice

Front Cover
Schirmer Books, 1991 - Music - 200 pages
0 Reviews
Music pervades the soul of Venice as surely as its canals penetrate the heart of the city. From Gabrieli, Monteverdi, Vivaldi, and Rossini to Verdi, Wagner, and Stravinsky, this great city has inspired and sheltered genius. Venice is a city in which music has accompanied every aspect of life, from religious and state ceremony to late-night revelry. This lavishly illustrated book examines the unique relationships between the life of Venice and the history of music.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Preface H C Robbins Landon
Introduction John Julius Norwich
The Seventeenth Century

3 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

H. C. Robbins Landon's many books include "The Mozart Essays, Mozart and Vienna", and "1791: Mozart's Last Year". He is also the author of the definitive five-volume "Haydn: Chronicle and Works".

John Julius Norwich is the son of the statesman and diplomat Alfred Duff Cooper (1st Viscount) and the Lady Diana Cooper. He was educated at Eton, Oxford and the University of Strasbourg. He is a prolific author of magisterial histories of Norman Sicily, the republic of Venice, and the Byzantine empire, of architecture and music, and has edited numerous titles.

Bibliographic information