"Are You There Alone?": The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates

Front Cover
Simon & Schuster, Jan 1, 2004 - True Crime - 281 pages
26 Reviews
In the tradition of "In Cold Blood, The Executioner's Song," and "A Civil Action," Suzanne O'Malley exposes the human mystery of the most horrifying crime in recent history and the legal dramasurrounding it.

As a journalist, Suzanne O'Malley began covering the murders of Noah, John, Paul, Luke, and Mary Yates hours after their mother, AndreaYates, drowned them in their suburban Houston home in June 2001. Over twenty-four months, O'Malley interviewed or witnessed the sworn testimony of more than a hundred participants in this drama, including Yates herself; her husband, Rusty Yates; their families; attorneys; the personnel of the Harris County district attorney's and sheriff's offices; medical staff; friends; acquaintances; and expert witnesses.

O'Malley argues persuasively that under less extraordinary circumstances, a mentally ill woman would have been quietly offered a plea bargain and sent to an institution under court supervision. But on March 12, 2002, Andrea Yates was found guilty of the murders of three of her five children. She is currently serving a life sentence and will not be eligible for parole until 2041.

O'Malley's exclusive personal communications with Andrea Yates and her interviews with Rusty Yates allow her to offer fully realized portrayals of people at the center of this horrifying case.

In ""Are You There Alone?"" O'Malley makes a critical contribution to our understanding of mental health issues within the criminal justice system.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
2

Review: Are You There Alone?: The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates

User Review  - Amanda - Goodreads

This book made me so angry. I couldn't believe someone could do this and believe they were actually doing it because it was gods will. I had to write a paper on it for my psychology class and it was ... Read full review

Review: Are You There Alone?: The Unspeakable Crime of Andrea Yates

User Review  - Jaimie Donovan - Goodreads

Decent book, very interesting in the beginning of the book and then got a little dull towards the middle and end. The best part about this book was learning about mental health issues, signs to look ... Read full review

About the author (2004)

Suzanne O'Malley's investigative reports on the Yates trial appeared in the "New York Times Magazine; O, The Oprah Magazine;" and on "Dateline NBC." She has written for the "New York Times Book Review, Esquire, Harper's Bazaar, " Salon.com, and "Texas Monthly, " and has been a producer and consultant for NBC and MSNBC. She is a Phi Beta Kappa graduate of the University of Texas at Austin. She lives in New York City and Houston. Visit www.suzanneomalley.com.

Bibliographic information