Walking on the Land

Front Cover
Random House of Canada, Limited, Oct 1, 2001 - Inuit - 288 pages
21 Reviews
Using one of his own trips through the Eastern Arctic as a starting point, Farley Mowat interweaves the stories of the Barren Ground Inuit with stunning, lyrical descriptions of the Northern landscape.
With great beauty and terrible anguish, Mowat traces the history of the Inuit, revealing how the arrival of the "Kablunait" -- white man -- in the early part of the century and the subsequent obliteration of the caribou herds combined to unleash a series of famines and epidemics that virtually wiped out the Barren Ground Inuit population.
Full of larger-than-life characters -- old-time Hudson's Bay company men, eccentric priests, wild bush pilots and well-meaning interlopers -- "Walking on the Land" is an unforgettable account by one of Canada's most committed and impassioned voices.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Walking on the Land

User Review  - KH Vaughan - Goodreads

Farley Mowat's strengths as a writer are also his weaknesses. He is evocative and passionate about his causes, but while that has made his stories powerful the question remains as to whether they are ... Read full review

Review: Walking on the Land

User Review  - Beverly - Goodreads

About the Barren Ground Inuit Read full review

About the author (2001)

Farley Mowat's nearly forty books have sold millions of copies & have been published in more than twenty languages. His books include "Never Cry Wolf", "Sea of Slaughter", "The Farfarers", "People of the Deer", "The Dog Who Wouldn't Be", "The Desperate People", & "Ordeal by Ice". He lives in Ontario, Canada.

Bibliographic information