Facing the bridge

Front Cover
New Directions Book, Apr 24, 2007 - Fiction - 186 pages
4 Reviews
Amo, an African kidnapped to Europe as a boy, and Tamao, a Japanese exchange student in Germany, live in different centuries but are being followed by the same shadow ... Kazuko, a young professional tourist, is lured to Vietnam by a mysterious postcard ... On the Canary Islands, a nameless translator battles a banana grove and a series of Saint Georges ...
These three tales by Yoko Tawada cross cultures and histories with a sensuous playfulness as sweet as a box of candied hearts - even Michael Jackson makes an appearance.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Ifland - LibraryThing

Facing the Bridge, translated from the Japanese by Margaret Mitsutani, includes three novellas: “The Shadow Man,” “In Front of Trang Tien Bridge” and “Saint George and the Translator.” In “Shadow Man ... Read full review

Review: Facing the Bridge

User Review  - Andrew Vice - Goodreads

postmodernism pls go Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Yoko Tawada (March 23, 1960 - Present) is a Japanese writer currently living in Hamburg, Germany. She was born in Tokyo, received her undergraduate education at Waseda University in 1982 with a major in Russian literature, then studied at Hamburg University where she received a master's degree in contemporary German literature. She received her doctorate in German literature at the University of Zurich. In 1987 she published A Void Only Where You Are, a collection of poems in a German and Japanese bilingual edition. Tawada's Missing Heels received the Gunzo Prize for New Writers in 1991, and The Bridegroom Was a Dog received the Akutagawa Prize in 1993. In 1999 she became writer-in-residence at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for four months. Her Suspect on the Night Train won the Tanizaki Prize and Ito Sei Literary Prize in 2003. Tawada received the Adelbert von Chamisso Prize in 1996, and the Goethe Medal in 2005.

YOKO TAWADA was born in Tokyo in 1960 and educated at Waseda University, and now lives in Germany. She made her debut as a writer with "Missing Heels," which was awarded the Gunzo Prize for New Writers in 1991. In 1993 she received the prestigious Akutagawa Prize-Japan's equivalent of a Booker or a
Pulitzer-for "The Bridegroom Was a Dog." And in 1996 she won the Adelbert von Chamisso Prize, a German award to foreign writers recognized for their contribution to German culture. She has also been given the Prize in Literature from the City of Hamburg (1990) and the Lessing Prize (1994).
Her fiction and poetry have been featured in journals and anthologies in France, Holland, Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic, but the present collection is the first to appear in English. This has since been followed by Where Europe Begins (New Directions, 2002).
The Translator: MARGARET MITSUTANI has a Master's degree in Comparative Literature from Tokyo University and now teaches at Kyoritsu Women's University in Tokyo. Her previous translations include Kenzaburo Oe's novel An Echo of Heaven and several short stories by Kyoko Hayashi.

Bibliographic information