The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere:, Volume 1

Front Cover
Penguin, Jun 15, 2010 - Juvenile Fiction - 272 pages
17 Reviews
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.

This house is keeping secrets . . .

When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepyóbut it isnít until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes thereís something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the houseís spooky paintings to a world thatís strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, itís up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - MrsBookOwl - LibraryThing

When I saw the book trailer for this one I definitely wanted to read it. I thought it looked really fun especially for the tween set. The Characters: Olive was a cute girl that I think a lot of tween ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - brangwinn - LibraryThing

This was a creepy book! It was an interesting concept to have pictures that someone with the special glasses could enter. I loved the cats and how they all different personalities. Read full review

All 4 reviews »

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Chilton, Wisconsin. This is her first novel.

Bibliographic information