A winter's tale

Front Cover
Avon, Nov 17, 2008 - Fiction - 403 pages
21 Reviews
A charming romantic comedy about a hard-up single mum inheriting a stately home - and a host of headaches - The perfect novel for curling up with during the long winter nights.Sophy Winter is not your typical Lady of the Manor'Ž.When she unexpectedly inherits Winter's End - a crumbling mansion in the beautiful Lancashire countryside - it seems like all Sophy's prayers have been answered. She eagerly swaps life as an impoverished housekeeper in favour of her own team of staff.But Sophy quickly realises the challenge on her hands - the house is decrepit and its eccentric inhabitants are a nightmare. And once it is discovered that Winter's End played host to a young Shakespeare, the entire village of Sticklepond becomes curious about Sophy's plans, especially charming Jack Lewis. But is he really smitten by Sophy'Žor her newly-acquired cash?Meanwhile, Sophy's gorgeous head gardener Seth is the strong and silent type. But does his passion bloom for anything beyond the horticultural?As Sophy gets to grips with squabbling relatives, collapsing buildings and the ghostly presence of one of her ancestors, she wonders if Winter's End is not so much a gift from the gods as a mixed blessing...A charming romantic comedy for fans of Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell - guaranteed to thaw the coldest of hearts!

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
1

Review: A Winter's Tale

User Review  - Amk256 - Goodreads

Nice story. Easy to read. Enjoyed the characters. Would definitely read more books by this author and recommend to others! Read full review

Review: A Winter's Tale

User Review  - Katie - Goodreads

I absolutely love this book! I've read it so many times, my copy is falling apart! If I am bored, this is the book I turn to. I love the story and the characters, especially as I have family links to Pendle Hill and Alice Nutter! Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
7
Section 3
13
Copyright

33 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

Bibliographic information