Bartokś Mikrokosmos: Genesis, Pedagogy, and Style

Front Cover
Scarecrow Press, 2002 - Music - 185 pages
0 Reviews
Now available in paperback! BZla Bart-k's Mikrokosmos is a collection of 153 pieces for piano designed by the composer as a series graded according to difficulty. The pieces were written between 1926 and 1939, and have become by far the best-known series of teaching pieces by a major composer in the twentieth century. This in-depth study investigates Bart-k's Mikrokosmos from three main viewpoints: the genesis of the pieces, their pedagogical value, and their stylistic qualities. The book is intended for piano teachers, students, and performers as well as anyone interested in Bart-k's life and work as pianist, educator, and composer. Cloth originally published in 2002 under ISBN 0-8108-4427-3.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Bart6k as Pianist
Bart5k as Teacher
Background and Development of the Mikrokosmos

15 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2002)

Benjamin Suchoff is Adjunct Professor in the Department of Ethnomusicology at the University of California, Los Angeles and a member of the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. He has been successor trustee of the estate of BZla Bart-k, curator of its New York Bart-k Archive, and editor of the fifteen-volume Bart-k Archive Studies in Musicology Series and the two volumes of the Bart-k Archive Edition series of piano works.

Bibliographic information