Mama Flora's Family: A Novel

Front Cover
Scribner, 1998 - Fiction - 393 pages
7 Reviews

In the tradition of Roots and Queen, Mama Flora's Family is a sweeping epic of contemporary American history, culled from the unpublished works of award-winning writer Alex Haley. It is the poignant story of three generations of an African-American family who start out as destitute sharecroppers in Tennessee.

Mama Flora is the heart and strength of the family, shepherding her children through hard times after the murder of her husband by white landholders. She has passionate ambitions for her son Willie, but he dashes her dreams by abandoning his church-going roots and moving to Chicago. After fighting in the Second World War, he marries his childhood sweetheart and struggles to build a new urban life for his family.

Flora's dreams are realized by Ruthana, her sister's child, whom Mama Flora adopts. Ruthana graduates from college, and as a social worker in Harlem, counsels underprivileged women. Through her love for the radical poet Ben, Ruthana begins to understand her heritage, and after a sojourn in Africa comes to a redemptive understanding of herself.

In Chicago, Willie's twin son and daughter embrace Muslim militancy and Black Power, and eventually, drugs on their rocky road through the 1960s. Mama Flora struggles to maintain her family, but she also is caught up in the turbulent times.

Mama Flora's Family is an American tale as dramatic and touching as anything Alex Haley ever wrote.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Very good

Review: Mama Flora's Family

User Review  - Antoinette the Book Junkie - Goodreads

Heart wrenching drama with just that extra touch of history and home. Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Alex Haley is the author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning masterpiece Roots. With Malcolm X, he coauthored the Autobiography of Malcolm X. He died in February 1992.

Bibliographic information