Zoobiquity: What Animals Can Teach Us About Being Human

Front Cover
Doubleday Canada, Jun 12, 2012 - Medical - 288 pages
2 Reviews
Engaging science writing that bravely approaches a new frontier in medical science and offers a whole new way of looking at the deep kinship between animals and human beings.

Zoobiquity: a species-spanning approach to medicine bringing doctors and veterinarians together to improve the health of all species and their habitats. In the tradition of Temple Grandin, Oliver Sacks, and Neil Shubin, this is a remarkable narrative science book arguing that animal and human commonality can be used to diagnose, treat, and ultimately heal human patients. Through case studies of various species--human and animal kind alike--the authors reveal that a cross-species approach to medicine makes us not only better able to treat psychological and medical conditions but helps us understand our deep connection to other species with whom we share much more than just a planet.

This revelatory book reaches across many disciplines--evolution, anthropology, sociology, biology, cutting-edge medicine and zoology--providing fascinating insights into the connection between animals and humans and what animals can teach us about the human body and mind.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Zoobiquity: What Animals Can Teach Us About Health and the Science of Healing

User Review  - Rob - Goodreads

Picked this up at B&N after work on the newly arrived shelf. WOW! Our animal relations suffer heart attacks from stress, have anxiety attacks, ocd, bulima, self abuse, depression and erectile ... Read full review

Contents

Authors Note
ONEDr House Meet Doctor Dolittle
TWOThe Feint of Heart
THREEJews Jaguars and Jurassic Cancer
FOURRoargasm
FIVEZoophoria
SIXScared to Death
SEVENFat Planet
NINEFear of Feeding
TENThe Koala and the Clap
ELEVENLeaving the Nest
TWELVEZoobiquity
Acknowledgments
Notes
Works Consulted
A NOTE ABOUT THE AUTHORS

EIGHTGrooming Gone Wild

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

BARBARA NATTERSON-HOROWITZ, M.D., earned her degrees at Harvard and UCSF. She has been a cardiologist at the UCLA Medical Center for twenty years and currently is also a cardiac consultant for the Los Angeles Zoo and a member of the Zoo's Medical Advisory Board. At UCLA's School of Medicine she lectures about cardiovascular physiology, cardiovascular pharmacology, echocardiography, and bioengineering. Her writing has appeared in many scientific and medical publications.

KATHRYN BOWERS has been a staff editor at The Atlantic Monthly and an editor, producer, and writer at CNN International. Kathryn has edited and written fiction and nonfiction books with a variety of authors, from UCLA anthropologist Jo Anne Van Tilburg to comedian Rita Rudner. Currently, she teaches a course on medical narrative at UCLA.

Bibliographic information