Ordeal by ice: the search for the Northwest Passage

Front Cover
McClelland and Stewart, 1973 - Fiction - 428 pages
1 Review
Ordeal by Iceis the thrilling account of the great Northern explorers: men who struggled, starved, and finally conquered the capricious forces of the bitter Northern winter in a centuries-long search for the Northwest Passage. The stories, compiled by award-winning author Farley Mowat and presented in gripping, firsthand narratives, capture both the stark drama of the struggle for survival and the breathtaking panorama of virgin Arctic lands.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - StephenBarkley - LibraryThing

Ordeal by Ice is the first book in Mowat’s The Top of the World trilogy. In these books, Mowat collects and edits the journals of the arctic explorers from first discovery to the modern era. This ... Read full review

Ordeal by ice: the search for the Northwest Passage

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Gibbs Smith publishers, based in Layton, Utah, launches a new paperback series. The initial volume of the series will be the first U.S. edition of Canadian naturalist Farley Mowat's Ordeal by Ice ... Read full review


Contents Foreword
The Forerunners
The Icie Seas

15 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1973)

Farley Mowat's nearly forty books have sold millions of copies & have been published in more than twenty languages. His books include "Never Cry Wolf", "Sea of Slaughter", "The Farfarers", "People of the Deer", "The Dog Who Wouldn't Be", "The Desperate People", & "Ordeal by Ice". He lives in Ontario, Canada.

Bibliographic information