Fair and Tender Ladies

Front Cover
G.K. Hall, 1989 - Fiction - 491 pages
21 Reviews
A series of letters, written to family and friends, reveals the life and times of Ivy Rowe, as she grows from girlhood to old age, finds love, dreams great visions, and raises a family, in an evocative portrait of Appalachia

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Lee's writing style was almost poetic at times. - Goodreads
I just didn't like the plot or point. - Goodreads
She wants to be a writer. - Goodreads

Review: Fair and Tender Ladies

User Review  - Ms. Okes - Goodreads

Fair and Tender Ladies by Lee Smith is a masterful telling of life growjng up in the Appalachian Mountains. Though set in Virginia, it could easily be the blue hills of my own home state that are ... Read full review

Review: Fair and Tender Ladies

User Review  - Carmen Gwazdacz - Goodreads

Have you ever read a book you love so much that you know any review you write couldn't do it justice? This is that book for me. It is a tribute to all those women not to long ago that had neither the ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

35 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1989)

Lee Smith is a novelist, short story writer, and educator. She was born in 1944 in Grundy, Virginia. Smith attended Hollins College in Roanoke, Virginia. In her senior year at Hollins, Smith entered a Book-of-the-Month Club contest, submitting a draft of a novel called The Last Day the Dog Bushes Bloomed. The book, one of 12 entries to receive a fellowship, was published in 1968. Smith wrote reviews for local papers and continued to write short stories. Smith received O. Henry Awards in 1978 and 1980 and in 1981, her first collection of short stories, Cakewalk, was published. Smith taught at North Carolina State University. Her novel, Oral History, published in 1983, was a Book-of-the-Month Club featured selection. Smith has received the Lila Wallace/Reader's Digest Award, the Robert Penn Warren Prize for Fiction, the North Carolina Award for Fiction, and the Academy Award in Literature presented by the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

Bibliographic information