Thom Pain

Front Cover
Oberon Books, 2004 - Drama - 72 pages
15 Reviews
From the last lonely wilderness, the last dark corner of these overlit times, in the camouflage of the common man, Thom Pain takes the stage, fumbling with his heart, squinting into the light. With terrible timing and impeccable regret, overeducated in the wrong ways, and wounded in the right ones, he appears. Teeth bared, as he picks a piece of lint off his suit. Listen to the language writhe, as he tries to say hello. Meet Thom Pain. A man who has only had, by his own reckless reckoning, three or four things happen to him in life. A man who is, by his own admittedly uninformed admission, a man much like a man or woman like you.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Thom Pain (based on nothing)

User Review  - Carol Jean - Goodreads

Well...very difficult! I need to reread it, I think....though it's a bit icky, so I'm not looking forward to the experience. The style reminded me a bit of Eddie Izzard, with the constant contradictions of what has just been said. Read full review

Review: Thom Pain (based on nothing)

User Review  - Gabrielle Callaghan - Goodreads

I can see how Eno has been called a poor man's modern Beckett. Very interesting, Mr Theatre comes home different was the best of them, in my opinion. Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Will Eno is a contemporary American playwright based in Brooklyn, NY. He is a Helen Merrill Playwriting Fellow,

a recipient of the coveted Guggenheim Fellowship, and an Edward F. Albee Foundation, Inc. Fellow. The New

York Times called Eno, "a Samuel Beckett for the Jon Stewart generation." The Flu Season on the

Oppenheimer Award; Thom Pain (based on nothing was a finalist for the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and

famed playwright Edward Albee has said, "Will Eno is one of the finest young playwrights I've come across in a

number of years." His play Middletown was winner of the 2011 Horton Foote Prize for American Literature.

Bibliographic information