Higher Ambition: How Great Leaders Create Economic and Social Value

Front Cover
Harvard Business Press, 2011 - Business & Economics - 247 pages
0 Reviews
Meeting the new standard for leadership.

Higher Ambition is required reading for every leader who refuses to compromise between people and performance. Choosing one or the other may have worked in the past, but it won’t work now. As global competition stiffens and businesses face increased public scrutiny and renewed government regulation, leaders must win on all fronts—with their people, their customers, their communities, and their shareholders. In short, they must deliver superior economic and social value. Brimming with powerful stories and thoughtful advice from CEOs themselves, Higher Ambition equips leaders with the practical insights they need to meet this new and higher standard. The authors, an international team of experts from leading business schools and consultancies, offer a unique view into the minds of some of the most successful and insightful leaders of our time: CEOs from vanguard companies around the world that have demonstrated the distinctive ability to do good while also doing well. These organizations are as diverse as Standard Chartered Bank, Infosys, Volvo, Cummins, IKEA, the Tata Group, and Campbell’s Soup. Readers will learn the principles and practices these pioneering leaders are using to:

• Build enduring enterprises that simultaneously solve for people and profits

• Forge winning strategies that leverage their companies’ unique cultural and human capabilities

• Dramatically raise the aspirations and ambitions of their people

• Energize and align their diverse global firms

• Relentlessly upgrade leadership capabilities throughout their organizations

Drawing on the author team’s extensive research and in-depth interviews with successful leaders from around the globe, this provocative new book is poised to become a management classic in the tradition of In Search of Excellence and Built to Last.
  

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Introduction
1
Part One HigherAmbition Leadership in Action
11
Part Two The Disciplines of HigherAmbition Leadership
55
Part Three Moving to a Higher Ambition
187
Afterword
213
Appendix Research Design and Directions for Future Research
215
Notes
219
Index
223
Acknowledgments
241
About the Authors
245
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Michael Beer is the Cahners-Rabb Professor of Business Administration, Emeritus, at Harvard Business School and chairman of TruePoint Partners, a consultancy, and the TruePoint Center for High Performance and High Commitment. Russell Eisenstat and Nathaniel Foote are partners at TruePoint. Tobias Fredberg is an associate professor at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden, and a Fellow at the TruePoint Center. Flemming Norrgren is a professor at Chalmers University and a partner at TruePoint.

Bibliographic information