Chaos: Making a New Science

Front Cover
Penguin Books, 2008 - Science - 360 pages
247 Reviews
The million-copy bestseller by National Book Award nominee and Pulitzer Prize finalist James Gleick that reveals the science behind chaos theory
National bestseller More than a million copies sold
A work of popular science in the tradition of Stephen Hawking and Carl Sagan, this 20th-anniversary edition of James Gleick's groundbreaking bestseller Chaos introduces a whole new readership to chaos theory, one of the most significant waves of scientific knowledge in our time. From Edward Lorenz's discovery of the Butterfly Effect, to Mitchell Feigenbaum's calculation of a universal constant, to Benoit Mandelbrot's concept of fractals, which created a new geometry of nature, Gleick's engaging narrative focuses on the key figures whose genius converged to chart an innovative direction for science. In Chaos,Gleick makes the story of chaos theory not only fascinating but also accessible to beginners, and opens our eyes to a surprising new view of the universe.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
97
4 stars
92
3 stars
41
2 stars
10
1 star
7

Good semi-layman overview of Chaos theory - Goodreads
General introduction to chaos. - Goodreads
Such insight and engaging. - Goodreads
Pretty pictures, too. - Goodreads
Great introduction to chaos theory and it's history. - Goodreads
I now have more insight into why. - Goodreads

Review: Chaos: The Making of a New Science

User Review  - Jay Vidyarthi - Goodreads

Was an amazing story of this totally new and fascinating science. In the middle it get a little bogged down with the experimental details - some may enjoy that but I was hoping for broader strokes. Ending picked right back up, though. Read full review

Review: Chaos: The Making of a New Science

User Review  - Yashwanth K - Goodreads

The book made me realize that the Chaos which heath ledger described as fair is different from the chaos which scientists speak of. The fact that chaos theory has a solution to the ever dooming ever ... Read full review

About the author (2008)

James Gleick was born in New York City in 1954. He worked for ten years as an editor and reporter for The New York Times, founded an early Internet portal, the Pipeline, and has written several books of popular science, including The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood, which won the Pen/E. O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award. He lives in Key West and New York.   

Bibliographic information