Breathe (Google eBook)

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Oct 2, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 400 pages
45 Reviews

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe "An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an "action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for."

  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
13
4 stars
13
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
2

The premise is great. - LibraryThing
It was just a depressing ending. - LibraryThing
I also really did not like the ending. - LibraryThing

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Angelina-Justice - LibraryThing

This was a fast-paced novel with a good balance of character development and world building. What I love about this book: The love story, the wacky kid and the gentle yet uplifting cliffhanger. What I hated: The bad guys, the sheeple and the evil herbicide. Verdict: Excellent! Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bell7 - LibraryThing

In the future, three teens living in a pod with controlled oxygen find their lives changed forever after a chance meeting. Alina is a revolutionary who may get in trouble for taking cuttings of plants ... Read full review

Contents

3
6
9
11
14
16
18
Quinn
Alina
Quinn
Alina
41
Alina
Quinn
44
Alina

20
Quinn
22
Quinn
The Resistance
Quinn
25
Alina
Quinn
28
Quinn
30
Quinn
32
Alina
34
Quinn
Alina
37
Quinn
Alina
48
Alina
50
Alina
52
Quinn
54
Quinn
The Ashes
Alina
57
Acknowledgments
About the Author
Credits
Copyright About the Publisher
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Sarah Crossan first had the idea for Breathe when traveling in Washington State. Seeing the logging, she thought, "Don't people understand that we need trees to breathe?" And so began a book about how awful life would be if access to one of our most basic needs—air—were restricted. Before becoming a full-time writer, Sarah Crossan taught high school English and creative writing. She lives with her family in England.

Bibliographic information