The Summer My Life Began (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Penguin, May 10, 2012 - Juvenile Fiction - 256 pages
21 Reviews
A great summer beach read filled with sunshine, cooking, and--of course--romance!

Elizabeth Margaret--better known as Em--has always known what her life would contain: an internship at her father's firm, a degree from Harvard, and a career as a lawyer. The only problem is, it's not what she wants. So when she gets the opportunity to get away and spend a month with the aunt she never knew, she jumps at the chance. While there, Em learns that her family has some pretty significant secrets. And then there's Cade, the laid-back local surfer boy who seems to be everything Em isn't. Naturally, she can't resist him, and as their romance blossoms, Em feels that for the first time ever, she is really living life on her own terms.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

What I adored most about this book is the great plot. - LibraryThing
Cade paints beautiful pictures. - Goodreads
The writing itself had no depth. - Goodreads

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - VanyaDrum - LibraryThing

NOTE: I received this awesome book from Netgalley. Okay, first of all, I want to start with the formality of the first couple of chapters. It was super weird. Not only was weird that the girls called ... Read full review

Review: The Summer My Life Began

User Review  - Jessica - Goodreads

Em gets a random letter from an "Aunt Tilly", who she's never heard of, at the end of senior year. She knows she has to go and find out who this mystery woman is. Em never quite fit into her family's ... Read full review


Chapter One
Chapter Two
Chapter Three
Chapter Four
Chapter Five
Chapter Six
Chapter Seven
Chapter Eight
Chapter Fourteen
Chapter Fifteen
Chapter Sixteen
Chapter Seventeen
Chapter Eighteen
Chapter Nineteen
Chapter Twenty
Chapter Twentyone

Chapter Nine
Chapter Ten
Chapter Eleven
Chapter Twelve
Chapter Thirteen
Chapter Twentytwo
Chapter Twentythree
Chapter Twentyfour

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Shannon Greenland is the author of the book series The Specialists, as well as several suspense novels. She lives in McLean, Virginia.

Bibliographic information