Short Cuts: Selected Stories, Volume 1

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 1993 - Fiction - 157 pages
16 Reviews
While helicopters overhead spray against a Medfly infestation, a group of peoples' lives in Los Angeles intersect, some casually, some to more lasting effect. While they go out to concerts and jazz clubs and even have their pools cleaned, these same folks also lie, drink, and cheat. Death itself seems never to be far away. A look at human life and American culture with over 20 lives interweaving.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
2

Review: Short Cuts: Selected Stories

User Review  - Giant Bolster - Goodreads

Finally got round to reading some Raymond Carver. I didn't realise initially that this compilation was taken from various collections, selected by a filmmaker who made a movie out of these stories ... Read full review

Review: Short Cuts: Selected Stories

User Review  - Sarah - Goodreads

I don't know what life was before Carver. Seriously. He takes every day, small human interactions and play them out in such a rich, varied, complicated, disastrous, painful and intense way. Plus it's all written in such a simple and concise style. Amazing. Read full review

Contents

Introduction by Robert Altman
7
Neighbors
13
Theyre Not Your Husband
20
Copyright

3 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1993)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information