The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

Front Cover
Amber-Allen Pub., 1997 - Body, Mind & Spirit - 138 pages
2001 Reviews
THE FOUR AGREEMENTS
BE IMPECCABLE WITH YOUR WORD
Speak with integrity. Say only what you mean. Avoid using the word to speak against yourself or to gossip about others. Use the power of your word in the direction of truth and love.
DON'T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY
Nothing others do is because of you. What others say and do is a projection of their own reality, their own dream. When you are immune to the opinions and actions of others, you won't be the victim of needless suffering.
DON'T MAKE ASSUMPTIONS
Find the courage to ask questions and to express what you really want. Communicate with others as clearly as you can to avoid misunderstandings, sadness, and drama. With just this one agreement, you can completely transform your life.
ALWAYS DO YOUR BEST
Your best is going to change from moment to moment; it will be different when you are tired as opposed to well-rested. Under any circumstance, simply do your best, and you will avoid self-judgment, self-abuse, and regret.
OVER SEVEN YEARS ON THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER LIST!
In THE FOUR AGREEMENTS, don Miguel Ruiz reveals the source of self-limiting beliefs that rob us of joy and create needless suffering. Based on ancient Toltec wisdom, The Four Agreements offer a powerful code of conduct that can rapidly transform our lives to a new experience of freedom, true happiness, and love.
'Don Miguel Ruiz'a book is a roadmap to enlightenment and freedom.'
- Deepak Chopra, Author, The Seven Spiritual Laws of Success
'An inspiring book with many great lessons . . . '
- Wayne Dyer, Author, Real Magic
'In the tradition of Castaneda, Ruiz distils essential Toltec wisdom, expressing with clarity and impeccability what it means for men and women to live as peaceful warriors in the modern world.'
- Dan Millman, Author, Way of the Peaceful Warrior

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
1023
4 stars
481
3 stars
268
2 stars
146
1 star
83

Love this book, good advice, easy to read. - Goodreads
Try to excuse the questionable writing style. - Goodreads
Some interesting insights. - Goodreads
This book is a great intro to changing your mindsets. - Goodreads
Read this book years ago and loved its premise. - Goodreads
Then the repetitive prose started to wear on me. - Goodreads

Review: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

User Review  - Jessica - Goodreads

Four simple yet complex ways in which we can change our lives right now. I have already started incorporating some of the agreements. I highly recommend this book to everyone that is interested in living their best life and achieving a higher level of consciousness. Read full review

Review: The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom

User Review  - Linda Hobkirk - Goodreads

Pretty simple things that if everyone practiced we'd have a lot less conflict. Read full review

All 19 reviews »

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1997)

Don Miguel Ruiz Jr. is a Nagual, a Toltec Master of Transformation. He is a direct descendant of the Toltecs of the Eagle Knight lineage and is the son of don Miguel Ruiz. By combining the wisdom of his family's tradition with the knowledge gained from his own personal journey, he now helps others realize their own path to personal freedom.