Front Cover
Thorndike Press, Apr 1, 1999 - Fiction - 232 pages
84 Reviews
On a chilly February day, Clive Linley and Vernon Halliday meet in the throng outside a crematorium to pay their last respects to Molly Lane. Both had been Molly's lovers in the days before they became part of London's elite. Another of Molly's paramours was a foreign secretary who's stumping for Prime Minister. Urged by Molly's husband to sabotage the secretary's chances, the pair find themselves making moral choices that could have disastrous results.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Well crafted story with wry ending. - LibraryThing
I found the writing to be a bit too wordy. - LibraryThing
A thrilling page turner with very strong characters. - LibraryThing
Short, with shallow characters and a silly ending. - LibraryThing
Perfect for that chiseled prose. - LibraryThing
Black humor in an easy to read book. - LibraryThing

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gypsysmom - LibraryThing

I think McEwan is a master of description and character. It's too bad none of the people in this book were likable but maybe that was part of the point of the book. The book begins at the cremation of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lilywren - LibraryThing

I have to say I finished Amsterdam before I realised I'd started it! It's quite a quick read and I found McEwan's style of writing easy to follow. However, for me, there is something missing from the ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

6 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

Ian McEwan was born in Aldershot, England on June 21, 1948. He received a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Sussex and an M.A. in English Literature from the University of East Anglia. He writes novels, plays, and collections of short stories including In Between the Sheets, The Cement Garden, The Comfort of Strangers, The Innocent, Black Dogs, The Daydreamer, and Enduring Love. He has won numerous awards including the 1976 Somerset Maugham Award for First Love, Last Rites; the 1987 Whitbread Novel Award and the 1993 Prix Fémina Etranger for The Child in Time; the 1998 Booker Prize for Fiction for Amserdam; and the 2002 W. H. Smith Literary Award, the 2003 National Book Critics' Circle Fiction Award, the 2003 Los Angeles Times Prize for Fiction, and the 2004 Santiago Prize for the European Novel for Atonement. He also won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Saturday in 2006.

Bibliographic information