Where water comes together with other water: poems

Front Cover
Random House, 1985 - Poetry - 130 pages
18 Reviews
The poems of this first major collection of poetry by the distinguished essayist and author of short stories chiefly tell stories--many of them autobiographical, about drinking, broken marriages, and other shoals of modern life

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: Where Water Comes Together with Other Water: Poems

User Review  - Edmund Davis-Quinn - Goodreads

I flew through this one, may need to ramble through this some more. I love good narrative poetry. Carver is an impressive poet. Read full review

Review: Where Water Comes Together with Other Water: Poems

User Review  - Tyler Arsen - Goodreads

I'm not a big poetry reader but I liked this book a lot. Read full review

Contents

Still Looking Out for Number One
16
THREE
27
Anathema
29
Copyright

7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1985)

Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Bibliographic information