Haroun and the Sea of Stories

Front Cover
Granta Books, 1990 - Fiction - 216 pages
5 Reviews

Discover Haroun and the Sea of Stories, Salman Rushdie’s classic fantasy novel

 Set in an exotic Eastern landscape peopled by magicians and fantastic talking animals, Salman Rushdie's classic children's novel Haroun and the Sea of Stories inhabits the same imaginative space as The Lord of the Rings, The Alchemist, and The Wizard of Oz. In this captivating work of fantasy from the author of Midnight’s Children and The Enchantress of Florence, Haroun sets out on an adventure to restore the poisoned source of the sea of stories. On the way, he encounters many foes, all intent on draining the sea of all its storytelling powers.     “Though there is darkness and silence at the center of Chup, most of Haroun and the Sea of Stories is full of comic energy and lively verbal invention. . . .Though [the book] is sure to be enjoyed by children, it also contains amusements for adults.” -- The New York Times

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Haroun and the Sea of Stories (Khalifa Brothers #1)

User Review  - Ana Lopes - Goodreads

This is in my Top Ten Fave Books Ever! Literature snobs laugh at me because this, and not ¨Midnight´s Children¨ is my favorite Rushdie. Well, screw them, because this is one of the most magical, colorful,poetic, and downright readable books in existence. Try this. You won´t regret it. Read full review

Review: Haroun and the Sea of Stories (Khalifa Brothers #1)

User Review  - Nora Ghenciulescu - Goodreads

It's a story about a beloved storyteller an his son, Haroun. They live in ,,The Sad City" ,a city that has forgotten its own name out of sadness. One day Harouns mom runs away with Mr. Sengupta, and ... Read full review


The Shah of Blah
An Iff and a Butt
The Spys Story

5 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1990)

Born in Bombay in 1947, Salman Rushdie is the author of six novels, including Grimus, Shame, The Satanic Verses, The Moor's Last Sigh, and The Ground Beneath Her Feet, and a volume of essays, Imaginary Homelands. His numerous literary prizes include the Booker Prize for Midnight's Children and the Whitbread Prize for The Satanic Verses.

Bibliographic information