The Dragon and the George

Front Cover
Orion, Sep 29, 2011 - Fiction - 279 pages
0 Reviews
One minute he was a college teacher, the next he was a dragon! Jim Eckert leads a peaceful, happy campus life. He's a college basketball player and an expert in mediaeval history. But his life has been disrupted by the disappearance of his girlfriend Angie. While taking part in a laboratory experiment on astral projection she just vanished. In an attempt to find out what's happened he submits himself to the equipment. A very unwise move Next thing he knows he's in the Middle Ages. Worse, he's no longer human. He's in the body of a dragon. Worse still, Angie has been nabbed by another dragon and taken to the Loathly Tower. Obviously, Jim has no option but to give chase . . . This first volume in Gordon R. Dickson's hilarious fantasy series is perfect for fans of Piers Anthony and Terry Pratchett.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (2011)

Gordon R. Dickson (1923 - 2001) Gordon Rupert Dickson was born in Alberta, Canada, in 1923 but resided in the United States from the age of thirteen. Along with Robert A. Heinlein, he is regarded as one of the fathers of military space opera, his Dorsai! sequence being an early exemplar of both military SF and Future History. Dickson was one of the rare breed of authors as well known for his fantasy as his SF - The Dragon and the George, the first novel in his Dragon Knight sequence, was shortlisted for the World Fantasy Award and won the British Fantasy Award. Dickson's work also won him three Hugos and Nebula. He died in 2001.

Bibliographic information