Armored Cav (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Penguin, Nov 1, 1994 - History - 352 pages
6 Reviews
A penetrating look inside an armored cavalry regiment -- the technology, the strategies, and the people . . . profiled by Tom Clancy. His first non-fiction book, Submarine, captured the reality of life aboard a nuclear warship. Now, the #1 bestselling author of Clear and Present Danger and Without Remorse portrays today's military as only army personnel can know it. With the same compelling, you-are-there immediacy of his acclaimed fiction, Tom Clancy provides detailed descriptions of tanks, helicopters, artillery, and more -- the brilliant technology behind the U. S. Army. He captures military life -- from the drama of combat to the daily routine -- with total accuracy, and reveals the roles and missions that have in recent years distinguished our fighting forces. Armored Cav includes: Descriptions of the M1A2 Main Battle Tank, the AH-64A Apache Attack Helicopter, and more An interview with General Frederick Franks Strategies behind the Desert Storm account Exclusive photograph, illustrations and diagrams

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Armored Cav: A Guided Tour of an Armored Cavalry Regiment (Guided Tour)

User Review  - Mark - Goodreads

Boring, boring, boring.....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz Read full review

Review: Armored Cav: A Guided Tour of an Armored Cavalry Regiment (Guided Tour)

User Review  - Clay Davis - Goodreads

I really like the story about how a disabled M1-A1 was left behind fought an Iraqi tank and was able to leave under its own power. Read full review


ArmorThe Hard Shell
US Army Armored Vehicles
Other US Armored Vehicles
US Army Trucks and Other Transport Vehicles
Coming Developments
The M270 MultipleLaunch Rocket System MLRS
The M109A6 Paladin 155mm SelfPropelled Howitzer
The Future
The 3rd ACRA Short History
The 3rd ACROrganization and Equipment
US III CorpsAttachments and Contributions
The Enlisted Troops
The Officer Corps
The Road to the National Training Center
The Second Korean War January 1997

The AH64A Apache Attack Helicopter
The UH60 Blackhawk Utility Helicopter
The OH58D Kiowa Warrior Scout Attack Helicopter
The RAH66 Comanche ScoutAttack Helicopter
The Colt M16A2 Assault Rifle
The M9 Beretta Model 92F 9mm Pistol
The Javelin AntiTank Guided Missile
The Stinger AntiAircraft Missile
BDUs Helmets Armor and Chemical Suits
TRations and MREs
Uganda June 1999
Honing the Razors Edge
Tomorrows Troopers
Official Army Publications
Briefing Notes

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Tom Clancy is the author of thirteen novels, most recently "The Teeth of the Tiger, " and the Commanders books "Into the Storm, Every Man a Tiger, " and "Shadow Warriors." He is also the author of the paperback nonfiction series that includes "Submarine, Armored Car, Fighter Wing, Marine, Airborne, Carrier, " and "Special Forces, " and the co-creator of the Op-Center, Power Plays, and Net Force series. He lives in Maryland.

Bibliographic information