Front Cover
Parthian Books, 2007 - Fiction - 268 pages
3 Reviews
Extremely controlled studies of constrained desire, loneliness, and incomplete relationships, these tales fostered Edwards' development of a nonrealist world of imagery and symbolism in her own language. The ten stories of Rhapsody, together with the three previously uncollected pieces added to this edition, are utterly distinctive in voice and sensibility. At least three of the Rhapsody stories—"A Country House," "Days," and the brilliant, enigmatic "A Garland of Earth"—are small masterpieces sure to by enjoyed by a whole new generation.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Rhapsody

User Review  - JA - Goodreads

The sensation of Edward's short stories appeared to me only after I had put down this collection and turned it over in my mind. It is not the stories themselves that stand out--which typically involve ... Read full review

Review: Rhapsody

User Review  - Sarah - Goodreads

I love you, Dorothy, but this was...painful. I only read the title story in its entirety. Read full review

Related books


A Country House
The Conquered
Treachery in a Forest

9 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Dorothy Edwards is the author of numerous short stories and the novel Winter Sonata.

Bibliographic information