Dangling Man: A Novel

Front Cover
Secker & Warburg, 1984 - 191 pages
43 Reviews
A novel in which the victim of a series of mix-ups (which delays his entry into the army) finds himself facing a year with nothing to do, and so decides to keep a record of his time on the streets of Chicago. From the author of THE ADVENTURES OF AUGIE MARCH and HERZOG.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

I found this easy to read and quite enjoyed it. - Goodreads
Astonishingly good writer. - Goodreads
There's little plot and I wasn't in the mood this time. - Goodreads

Review: Dangling Man

User Review  - Dina - Goodreads

The reviews of this book seem to split the readers into people who vaguely identify with the fatuous intellectual and those who react and judge from a distance. I identify with him. Joseph is a Bellow ... Read full review

Review: Dangling Man

User Review  - Mock29 - Goodreads

Written in 1944 and seemingly autobiographical, the main character,Joseph, is a dissipated misanthrope who has been drafted by the Army, but is on hold until his paperwork is sorted. This lasts for ... Read full review

About the author (1984)

Saul Bellow was born in Lachine, Quebec, Canada on June 10, 1915. He attended the University of Chicago, received a Bachelor's degree in sociology and anthropology from Northwestern University in 1937, and did graduate work at the University of Wisconsin. He taught at several universities including the University of Minnesota, Princeton University, the University of Chicago, New York University, and Boston University. His first novel, Dangling Man, was published in 1944. His other works include The Victim, Seize the Day, Henderson the Rain King, Mosby's Memoirs and Other Stories, To Jerusalem and Back: A Personal Account, Him with His Foot in His Mouth and Other Stories, More Die of Heartbreak, and Something to Remember Me By. He received numerous awards including the 1975 Pulitzer Prize for Humboldt's Gift, the 1976 Nobel Prize in Literature, and three National Book Awards for fiction for The Adventures of Augie March in 1954, Herzog in 1964, and Mr. Sammler's Planet in 1970. Also a playwright, he wrote The Last Analysis and three short plays, collectively entitled Under the Weather, which were produced on Broadway in 1966. He died on April 5, 2005.

Bibliographic information