A mixture of frailties

Front Cover
Everest House, 1979 - Fiction - 361 pages
13 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: A Mixture of Frailties (The Salterton Trilogy #3)

User Review  - Sally - Goodreads

Just fun reading these old books. This one gently jabs at arts education, small town snobbery and eccentric philanthropy. Read full review

Review: A Mixture of Frailties (The Salterton Trilogy #3)

User Review  - Paige - Goodreads

One if my favorite books of all time. I read it decades ago and plan to again. This book started my love affair with Robertson Davies - as well as this trilogy (yes, I read the third book first!) Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

21 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1979)

Novelist, playwright, and journalist, Robertson Davies is one of Canada's best-known writers internationally. He grew up in Kingston, Ontario, where he later attended Queen's University. In 1938, he received a B.Litt. from Oxford, and then joined the Old Vic Theatre Company. Returning to Canada in 1940, he served as editor of the influential publication Saturday Night until 1942. For the next 20 years he was editor of the Peterborough Examiner in Ontario, where he wrote the Samuel Marchbanks Sketches. From 1953 to 1971 he served on the board of the Stratford Festival. In 1963 Davies became the first master of Massey College, a graduate college at the University of Toronto. In the 1970s Davies published the Deptford Trilogy - Fifth Business (1970), The Manticore (1972), and World of Wonders (1975). Beginning in 1981, Davies published the Cornish Trilogy - The Rebel Angels (1981), What's Bred in the Bone (1985), and The Lyre of Orpheus (1988). These novels, with their academic setting, reveal Davies's awareness of Canada's intellectual and artistic sophistication.

Bibliographic information