Chocolat (Google eBook)

Front Cover
Penguin, Nov 1, 2000 - Fiction - 320 pages
74 Reviews
More information to be announced soon on this forthcoming title from Penguin USA
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
28
4 stars
32
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
1

The characterisation is perfect and pace too. - LibraryThing
The book is not a love story, its a story about change. - LibraryThing
The writing is excellent and the character likable. - LibraryThing
The writing is very fluid, lyrical and romantic. - LibraryThing
I assume most know the plot of the novel. - LibraryThing

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JacobsBeloved - LibraryThing

I have lost count of the number of times I have watched the movie that is based off of this book, so I figured it was time for me to read the book. Like most movies based on books, the movie is only ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - fefferbooks - LibraryThing

3.5 stars. I think I'd have been really into it if I hadn't seen the movie first--it was a little jarring to me that the characters I'm so in love with from the movie were (gasp!) different in the book. But it's well-written, and some of the changes are interesting. Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Acknowledgments
 1  February 11 Shrove Tuesday
 2  February 12 Ash Wednesday
 3  Thursday February 13
 4  Friday February 14 St Valentines Day
 5  Saturday February 15
 6  Saturday February 15
 7  Sunday February 16
 21  Wednesday March 5
 22  Friday March 7
 23  Saturday March 8
 24  Sunday March 9
 25  Monday March 10
 26  Wednesday March 12
 27  Thursday March 13
 28  Saturday March 15

 8  Tuesday February 18
 9  Wednesday February 19
 10  Wednesday February 19
 11  Thursday February 20
 12  Friday February 21
 13  Sunday February 23
 14  Monday February 24
 15  Wednesday February 26
 16  Thursday February 27
 17  Saturday March 1
 18  Saturday March 1
 19  Sunday March 2
 20  Tuesday March 4
 29  Sunday March 16
 30  Tuesday March 18
 31  Wednesday March 19
 32  Friday March 21
 33  Sunday March 23 Palm Sunday
34  Wednesday March 26
 35  Friday March 28 Good Friday
 36  Friday March 28 Good Friday
 37  Saturday March 29 Easter Eve
00 am
 39  Monday March 31 Easter Monday
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Joanne Harris is the author of the Whitbread Award-nominated Chocolat (made into an Oscar-nominated film starring Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp) and eleven other bestselling novels. She plays bass guitar in a band first formed when she was sixteen, is currently studying Old Norse and lives with her husband and daughter in Yorkshire, England.

Bibliographic information