Science Fiction: The Best of 2001

Front Cover
Robert Silverberg, Karen Haber
ibooks, Incorporated, 2002 - Fiction - 512 pages
4 Reviews
Here in one affordable volume is the best short science fiction of the year as selected from magazines, anthologies and journals. It includes stories by Michael Swanwick, Nancy Kress, Stephen Baxter and many more. It is the first in a prestigious new series from ibooks.

Robert Silverberg, a multiple winner of the Hugo and Nebula awards as a writer, has compiled a distinguished record as an anthologist over the past 35 years. Among the famous books he has edited are The Science Fiction Hall of Fame, the New Dimensions, Universe, and Alpha series, and the best-selling original collections, Legends and Far Horizons. His long list of well-known science fiction and fantasy novels includes such titles as Dying Inside, The Book of Skulls, Downward to the Earth, The Alien Years, and the six volumes of the Majipoor Cycle, which began with the classic Lord Valentine's Castle.

Karen Haber is the co-author of Science of the X-Men, editor of Meditations on Middle Earth and author of eight science fiction novels, including the four-volume Mutant Season series. With Robert Silverberg, she edited the Universe anthology series of original science fiction stories.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Science Fiction: The Best Of 2003

User Review  - Monica Madaus - Goodreads

I particularly liked Lucius Shepard's "Only Partly Here." Read full review

Review: Science Fiction: The Best Of 2003

User Review  - Tapanga Koe - Goodreads

I did enjoy it, but the last two stories struck me as more fantasy than Sci-fi. Read full review

About the author (2002)

Philip Wylie (1902-71) is the author of "Gladiator" and the coauthor of "When Worlds Collide," both available in Bison Books editions. Acclaimed science-fiction writer Robert Silverberg is the recipient of many awards, including the prestigious Hugo and Nebula awards, and the Grand Master designation from the Science Fiction Writers of America, the highest science-fiction honor available. He is the author of "Lord Valentine's Castle,

George R. R. Martin, Raymond E. Feist, Poul Andersen, Harry Turtledove, Terry Pratchett, Robin Hobb, Ursula Le Guin, Orson Scott Card, Terri Windling.

Bibliographic information