Championship no-limit and pot-limit hold'em

Front Cover
Cardoza Pub., Mar 30, 2004 - Games - 304 pages
5 Reviews
Written by World Champion players T. J. Cloutier and Tom McEvoy (8 titles between them), this is the definitive guide to winning at two of the world's most exciting poker games! All the answers to players most important questions are here: How do you get inside your opponents' heads and learn how to beat them at their own game? How can you tell how much to bet, raise, and reraise in no-limit hold'em? When can you bluff? How do you set up your opponents in pot-limit hold'em so that you can win a monster pot? What are the best strategies for winning no-limit and pot-limit tournaments, satellites, and supersatellites? Rock-solid and inspired advice from two of the most recognizable figures in poker.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Championship No Limit & Pot Limit Hold 'Em

User Review  - Tony Orcutt - Goodreads

This one is a solid read and is still helpful today in the tournament scene. I will say its a little behind in times for cash games though. The game has greatly evolved in terms of creativity and math ... Read full review

Review: Championship No Limit & Pot Limit Hold 'Em

User Review  - Dancomfort - Goodreads

Good information. Read full review



7 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (2004)

- Tom McEvoy, the "Champion of Champions" has won four World Series of Poker gold bracelets including the main event championship in 1983, He also won the inaugural Champion of Champions tournament at the 2009 WSOP in competition against the other living winners of the World Championship of Poker. He also won the 2005 Professional Poker Tour tournament, becoming the first ever to win a PPT championship and a WSOP main event championship. - A member of the Poker Hall of Fame, T.J. Cloutier has six World Series of Poker titles and has appeared at the final table of the WSOP Main Event a remarkable four times. He won the Player of the Year award in 1998 and 2002, and. has won more major poker tournament titles--60 and counting--than any player in history. He is the co-author of Championship Omaha, Championship No-Limit and Pot-Limit Hold'em and Championship Hold'em. - Linda Johnson, known as "The First Lady of Poker," is a WSOP gold bracelet holder in razz and a former announcer for the World Poker Tour. She was the publisher of CardPlayer Magazine, the industry's leading poker publication and the founder of the Tournament Directors Association which sets rules for tournaments such as the World Poker Tour.

Tom McEvoy -- The 1983 World Champion of Poker, Tom has won four World Series titles. Formerly a 9 to 5 accountant, he quit his day job in 1979 to join the high-pressure poker tournament circuit. In 1995 he wrote the acclaimed Tournament Poker, "one of the most important poker books of all time," according to the Gambler's Book Club in Las Vegas. McEvoy is also the co-author of the "Championship Series:" Championship No-Limit & Pot-Limit Hold'em, Championship Stud, Championship Omaha and Championship Hold'em.

T. J. Cloutier -- The 1998 Player of the Year, T. J. has won four World Series of Poker titles. He is the only player ever to have won bracelets in each of the three types of Omaha games: Omaha high-low, limit high Omaha, and pot-limit Omaha. A former football star in the Canadian league, T. J. turned to playing professional poker in the '80s as a road gambler and has become one of the most celebrated tournament players in the world. He is the co-author of Championship Omaha, Championship No-Limit and Pot-Limit Hold'em and Championship Hold'em . The entertaining road stories he includes in each of his books have become legendary among poker players.

Tom McEvoy has won four World Series titles and authored or co-authored many titles on poker.

Dana Smith is the author of many poker books and has interviewed more than 100 poker champions.

Ralph Wheeler is a World Series of Poker buff and the author of the Wacky Side of Poker.

Bibliographic information