« PreviousContinue »
a trustee of the State Agricultural College, and its treasurer until declining hcalth necessitated his resignation. Kind-hearted and genial in his disposition, he was over ready to help and encourage the unfortunate and despondent, the frequent losses sustained by him in his readiness to aid those seeking his assistance never chilling his sympathy or preventing his efficient action when ngain sought by any who needed a helping hand. He was a strong advocate of the cause of temperance, and during the active period of his life was a public and efficient worker in it.
The moral and spiritual welfare of his native town and city was ever prominent in the mind of Dr. Durfce, who was one of the earliest projectors of the Sunday-school work, and instrumental in establishing several suburban mission schools. He was closely identified with the Central Congregational Church, being an original member and contributor of onequarter of the lot upon which the society's first house of worship was erected. Always one of its most active and efficient members, he took an especially deep interest in its development, and, with the late Col. Richard Borden, furnished a large portion of the funds used in the construction of the new and elegant edifice erected in 1875, and considered one of the most perfect ecclesiastical structures in the country.
He died April 6, 1876.
WILLIAM C. DAVOL. William C. Davol was born Jan. 5, 1806, in Fall River, and while yet a lad entered the Troy Mill, then just commencing operations. He was made overseer of the spinning in 1819, and superintendent in 1827, a position which he occupied until 1841, when he became partner in the firm of Hawes, Marvel & Davol, and engaged in the manufacture of colton machinery. He was an intimate friend of Holder Borden and Maj. Durfee, and when the latter went to Europe, in 1838, to investigate the improvements in cotton and iron machinery, accompanied him. By letters of introduction, a little Yankee ingenuity and persistence, he effected an arrangement with the owners of the Sharp & Roberts self-acting mule, to secure patents for their manufacture in the United States, and the manufacture of cotton and other kinds of machinery from the most approved patterns was entered upon at once by the new firm of Hawes, Marvel & Davol. Mr. Davol soon projected improvements to beautify and perfect the operation and durability of the selfacting mule, and from these patterns built one hundred and eighty thousand spindles. In 1847 a new set of patterns were made, which superseded the old, and from which one hundred thousand spindles were soon constructed. In 1852 and in 1854 other new mules were perfected with a combination of improved principles for spinning fine yarn. At the same time Mr. Davol'8 inventive genius was at work upon other parts of cotton machinery, resulting in patent carders,
speeders, and drawing-frames, by which the productive power was quadrupled. The advantage to any manufacturing community to have among its number one such man cannot well be estimated, and the high opinion of Mr. Davol's practical worth may be gathered from the opinion of a well-known cotton manufacturer, as expressed in the statement that" William C. Davol was worth more to Fall River, for the twenty years succeeding the building of the Metacomet Mill, than all others put together because of his improvements in cotton machinery." This is high praise, but is in some respects justified by the statement of another noted manufacturer, who said, " There's more in the man than in the mill."
The Davol Mills, for the manufacture of sheetings, shirtings, silesias, etc., were named after Mr. Davol, who was elected and still holds the position of president of the corporation.
HON. WILLIAM STEDMAN GRKENK.
Hon. William Stedman Greene, ex-mayor of Fall River, was born in Tremont, Tazewell Co., 111., April 28,1841, and removed with his parents to Fall River, Mass., in July, 1844. He was educated in the public schools of the city, and in the autumn of 1856 was employed in a fancy goods and millinery store, but only continued in that occupation six months. In March, 1858, he entered the employ of John P. Slade in the insurance business, and remained with him until May, 1865.
He was married to Mary E. White, of Providence, R. I., in March, 1865, and they have three children, two sons and one daughter. In 1865 and 1866 was engaged in life msurance business in Providence, R. I., Buffalo, N. Y., and New York City.
In June, 1866, returned to Fall River, Mass., and formed a copartnership with his father, transacting business as auctioneers, real-estate, stock, and insurance brokers under the name and firm of Greene & Son, of which firm he still remains an active member.
In the fall of 1875, Mr. Greene was elected a member of the Common Council from Ward five, and served in that body during the years 1876, '77, '78, 79, and for the last three years named served as president.
He has always been an active Republican, and in 1876 was chosen chairman of the Republican City Committee. An active campaign was entered upon and a canvass of voters made and an estimate of the probable result made, predicting a Republican majority of seven hundred and eighty-seven. The result being that President Hayes had a majority of 861, and the Republicans carried five of the six wards, and gave their senatorial candidate over one thousand majority, and elected their entire representative ticket. In November, 1879, Mr. Greene was nominated by acclamation as the Republican candidate for mayor, and was elected the following December by four hundred and sixty-one majority. In the State election on the first Tuesday in November, 1879, the Democratic candidate for Governor carried the city by twelve hundred and fifty-nine majority. In the face of this result the outlook for the election of so outspoken a Republican as Mr. Greene only one month later did not seem promising, but his friends worked actively and with determination, with the successful result before stated.
His administration of the office was marked with firmness and economy. He vetoed two appropriations for three thousand five hundred dollars and two thousand five hundred dollars respectively, for the celebration of Fourth of July, both of which were sustained. He also vetoed an appropriation of seven thousand dollars for a city stable, but this veto was not sustained. During the year an ordinance was prepared under his directiou creating the office of superintendent of public buildings and inspector of buildings, establishing a fire district and regulating the construction of buildings throughout the city; also an ordinance creating the office of city engineer and defining his duties.
In May, 1880, he was chosen an alternate delegate from the First Congressional District to the Republican National Convention, holden in Chicago in June, 1880, and was present and participated in the deliberations of the convention, which resulted in the nomination of Hon. James A. Garfield for the Presidency. In November, 1880, was unanimously renominated by acclamation by the Republicans as candidate for mayor, and was elected the following December by thirteen hundred and sixty-eight majority. He entered upon his second term in January, 1881, and in March, 1881, was appointed postmaster by President Garfield, and on the 28th day of March, 1881, resigned the office of mayor, and assumed the position of postmaster, April 15, 1881. Under his administration of that office additional mail facilities have been obtained, mail messenger service has been established to and from the railroad depots, the number of letter carriers has been increased, and the routes for the collection and delivery of letters have been greatly extended, and few cities are now provided with better mail facilities. Ho is a member of St. Paul's Methodist Episcopal Church, and is superintendent of the Sabbath-school, which position he has held during the past five years. He is also a member of the board of trustees. lie is a member of the Mount Hope Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons, Fall River Royal Arch Chapter, and Godfrey De Bouillon Commandery Knights Templar, but has never held any official position in either of these bodies.
Mr. Greene is a public-spirited citizen, and all measures tending to advance the interests of Fall River have found in him an earnest advocate.
K. T. LEONARD.
Ebenezer Turell Leonard was born in Gardner, Mass., July 19, 1812. He commenced the study of medicine under Drs. Perry, Bowditch, Gould, and Wylie, of Boston, and afterwards studied at the Harvard Medical School, graduating in 1836. He commenced practice in Weymouth, Mass., in the spring of 1836, and remained there ten years. He removed to Fall River in 1846, and has labored here uninterruptedly until the present time. He graduated at Harvard Medical School in 1836. He has held the following offices in the South Massachusetts Medical Society: president two years, and vice-president and councilor two years.
Dr. Leonard is one of the oldest practitioners in the State, and one of Fall River's most honored and esteemed citizens.
HON. JAMBS BUKFINTON.
Hon. James HuHintcm was born on " Chaloucr Hill," in Troy (now Fall River), Mass., March 16, 1817. His parents removed to Swansea, near the village of that name, in his infancy, where the first years of his childhood were passed, and where he commenced attending school; but soon the interests of the family caused their return to his native village, which henceforward became his home. His earlier years were those of self-denial and constraint, yet all through his boyhood and youth his promptness in thought and independence in action were indicative of the coming man. His parents were members of the Society of Friends, his mother being an approved minister of that body of Christians for many years. She was careful in the training of her youngest born —the subject of this sketch—to inculeate in his mind the love of truth and virtue, to lay a foundation for the principles of honesty and uprightness, and to nurture him in a strict regard for the same.
He attended public and private schools a part of each twelvemonth, until he was some fifteen years of age, when he was sent for two or three terms to the Friends' Boarding School in Providence, R. I., where he made good use of his privileges, and progressed satisfactorily in his studies. Here, as elsewhere, the activity of an irrepressible nature often led him to the front, and in sports and exercises of muscular power and skill he ever showed an ambition to lead. After leaving school he commenced the study of medicine with the late Dr. Thomas Wilbur, pursuing his investigations in this science successfully to the period when he should have attended medical lectures as a finishing step to make him a veritable M.D. Failing to obtain the necessary funds at the proper time satisfactorily to himself, he turned his attention to teaching, and spent two or three years as a preceptor in public and private schools at Wcstport, and afterwards in Dartmouth, at or near Paditnaram, the southern extremity of the town. Here, from constant
association with men interested in navigation, his thoughts were turned in this direction, and he fmally shipped for a whaling voyage on board the ship "South Carolina," about to sail from that port.
Making a successful voyage, he returned home, and engaged in business as a druggist. Subsequently abandoning this enterprise, he entered the dry-goods and millinery trade. About this time also he united in marriage with Miss Sarah Perkins.
During these years he possessed the full confidence of his fellow-townsmen, who often by their suffrages acknowledged his qualifications, electing him to positions of trust and usefulness. He was a prominent and efficient member of the fire department, and in 1851 was chosen selectman, being re-elected in 1852, and again in 1853.
On the adoption of a city charter in 1854 he was elected mayor by a majority over all of three hundred and thirty-one, in an aggregate of twelve hundred and sixty-one votes.
At the second city election, in 1855, he was reelected mayor; but the same autumn, his executive abilities having become more generally known and appreciated, at a convention called to nominate a candidate for representative in Congress, he was chosen by acclamation, and subsequently elected by a majority of several thousand. When the Rebellion was being inaugurated, his attention in the House was, if possible, increased, and no effort was lost to advance the nation's cause and preserve her life and usefulness. On his return home early in the spring of 1861, he immediately set influences at work to raise a company of volunteers in person, joining the " Boys in Blue" in their drill, their marches through the street, and in all their preparations to become defenders of their country's life and integrity.
In 1864 Mr. Buflinton, having declined a re-nomination for Congress, accepted an office in the Internal Revenue Department, tendered him during President Johnson's administration.
The duties of this office—general treasury agent— were satisfactorily performed for a year or two, when he was appointed revenue collector for the First District of Massachusetts, which office ho held until after the death of Mr. Eliot, his successor in Congress, in June, 1770, when he was again elected by those whom he had so faithfully served in previous years as their representative in the national councils. He served two terms, and was re-elected for a third, when death intervened. Thus was spent the remainder of his useful life, the last few weeks in distress of body, yet to the last with the same alert mind, anxious to do his whole duty, prompt in his attendance upon each session of the House, and fmally dying with the harness on. He remained in his seat, against the wishes of his friends, until the adjournment of Congress, when he'came home to die in .less than one hour after being weleomed by his beloved domestic circle, Sabbath morning, March 6, 1874.
His funeral obsequies were attended by a large concourse of relatives and friends, residents of this and many other towns in the State.
CHARLES H. DEAN. Charles H. Dean, whose portrait accompanies this sketch, was born in the town of Freetown, Mass., Nov. 29, 1821, and died at his residence in Fall River, Mass., July 22, 1882. He was seventh in descent from Walter Deane, his paternal American ancestor, and ninth in regular descent from Walter Deane, who lived a few miles from Taunton, England. This first Walter Deane had several children, but only one son, William Deane. Nothing is known of Walter Deane, except that he died in England, in 1591. His son William was born there, and died there. He died in 1634. He had nine children, the three youngest of whom, John, Walter, Margaret, we know came to America, and were first at Dorchester in 1636 or 1637, and in Taunton in 1637-38. "Walter Deane married Eleanor Strong, and had six children, but we know the names only Benjamin, Ezra, and Joseph. He was a representative to the General Court as early as 1640, and was a selectman in Taunton for many years, and with his wife was living as late as 1693." (See history of pioneers of Taunton.)
Benjamin Deane,1 son of Walter and Eleanor (Strong) Deane, was married to Sarah Williams, Jan. 6,1680 or'81. They settled in Taunton, Mass,and had children,—Naomi, Hannah, Israel (born Feb. 2,1685), Mary, Damaris, Sarah, Elizabeth, Mehitable, Benjamin (born July 31, 1699), Ebenezer (born Feb. 24, 1702), Lydia, and Josiah (born Oct. 23, 1707). His will was made Feb. 2, 1723, and probated April 14, 1725.
Ebenezer Deane, third son of Benjamin Deane,' married Rachel Allen, of Rehoboth, Jan. 19, 1709 or '10. He had several children, among whom were Joshua and Ebenezer. He marched with his son Joshua in defense of their country against the French and Indians. He was captain of a company, and served with distinction in that war.
Ebenezer Dean, Jr., son of Capt. Ebenezer, Sr., was born about 1730, and died Jan. 5, 1819, in his ninetieth year. He was known as Deacon Dean. He married Prudence, daughter of John King, of Raynham. She died March 10,1787, in her fifty-fifth year. Their children were ten in number, of whom we know of Ebenezer, Abiather, Enos, Levi, and A polios.
Mr. Dean resided in Taunton, but purchased a tract of land in Freetown, and gave to his sons Levi and Apollos. Gen. Peirce, of Assonet, says, "There was a small house on the farm of Levi Dean, which was
1 The name was usually written wltfa an c final, but for sereral generations past many have dropped the «. .