« PreviousContinue »
The Nieuport line here diverges to the N. W. from the main line to Dunkirk (see below). — 44 M. Caeskerke; 47 M. Pervyse; 50 M. Rarmcapelle.
52Y2M. Nieuport- Ville, station for the town of Nieuport (20 ft.; Hot. de VEspe'rancc, Rue Longue; Hot. du Pelican, in the marketplace; Hot. du Boulevard, at the station, all unpretending), a small and quiet place on the Yser, with 3500 inhabitants. In the 9th cent, a castle stood here, erected by the Flemish counts for protection against the Normans. In 1160 the people of Lombartzyde (p. 10) removed to thiB spot, which then changed its name from Santhoven to Neoportus. Nieuport is noted for its obstinate resistance to the French in 1489 and for the 'Battle of the Dunes' in July, 1600, in which the Dutch under Maurice of Orange defeated the Spaniards under the Archduke Albert. The strong fortifications were razed in 1860. Besides several quaint private houses the most interesting buildings are the Cloth Hall of 1480, with a lately restored Belfry, the massive baroque Bell Tower, near the market-place, and the Gothic Church (restored in 1903), containing a rood-loft, tasteful choir-stalls, a tabernacle of the 15th cent., a sculptured altar in the baroque style of 1630, and several old tombstones. The Town Hall contains a small collection of paintings. The Donjonis the only relic of the Templars' castle since the destruction of the town by the inhabitants of Ghent and the English in 1383. — Outside the town, on the side next the sea, is a Lighthouse built in 1284. The locks on the canals to Ostend and Furnes, which enter the Yser here, are not uninteresting.
Steam-tramway to AHeuport-Baim, Ostend, and Furnes, »ee p. 15.
64V2M. Nieuport-Bains, see p. 16. Most of the hotels are within a few hundred yards of the station.
The Railway To Dunkirk continues to run to the W. beyond Dixmude. 48 M. Oostkerke; 49 M. AvccapcUc.
52 M. Furnes, Flemish Veurne (20 ft.; Hotel Royal, in the marketplace, R. 2-2V2, B. 8/4, D. I72-21/2, pens. 5-6 fr.; Hot. de laNoble Rose, near the market-place, R.2, B.l, D.2'/2,pens. 6 fr.; H6t. de France, at the station; Cafe du Sport, in the market-place), now a dull town with 6000 inhab., was formerly of much greater importance. Many strangers are attracted to Furnes by the great procession which has taken place here annually since the 12th cent, on the last Sunday in July. The Story of the Passion is dramatically represented in Flemish on this occasion by groups in costume from among the members of the Confririe de la Sodaliti (begins at 3.30 p.m.; seat in the Hotel de Ville 1 fr.).
The HStel de Ville, in the quaint old "Grand' Place, a Renaissance structure of 1596-1612 by Lieven Lukas, contains some interesting wall-hangings of Spanish leather, a chimney-piece with representations of still-life by Snyders ('?), old Flemish tapestry, and two carved doors (1623). — Adjacent is the old Chiltellenie, now the Palais de Justice, built by Sylvanus Boulin in 1612-1628. The antechamber on the first floor was the former meeting-place of the Inquisition; the main hall contains a painting by Alb. de Vriendt (p. 166), representing Philippe le Bel swearing to observe the rights of Fumes (1500) ; the adjoining chapel has a timber roof and good wood-carvings in the choir (key in the tavern to the left; fee Vafr.)— On the E. side of the Grand' Place are the old Meat Market, a Renaissance structure of 1615 (now a theatre), and the Gothic socalled Pavilion des Officiers Espagnols (13-14th cent.), the earliest town-hall, restored in 1890-95 for the reception of the municipal archives and library. The so-called Corps de Garde (now the policeoffice), on the S. side of the market-place, is a Renaissance building of 1636.
Behind the Chatellenie rises the massive Belfry, with a spire of 1624. The adjoining Church of St. Walburga is said to have been originally founded by Baldwin of the Iron Arm (p. 22); the present building was designed at the beginning of the 14th cent, on so extensive a scale that only the choir, with its radiating chapels, has been completed. It contains finely carved choir-stalls (beginning of 17th cent.) and a reliquary of the 15th cent, (in the sacristy).
The Hotel de la Noble Rose (p. 46) is a Renaissance edifice of 1572. — The interior of the Church of St. Nicholas, near the S.E. corner of the market-place, a Gothic structure of the 14th cent., with a huge unfinished tower, was thoroughly modernized in 1890-97.
Steam-tramway to Ostend, see p. 15. — Another steam-tramway runs to (19l/a M.) Ypres (p. 40), passing (3*/z M.) Wulv&rmghem, with the chateau of lieauvoorde, built in 1595-1617, and restored since 1875 by M. Merghelynck, and (lO1/? M.) Oostrleleren, with an old screen in the parish-church, brought from St. Martin's at Ypres. NearOostvleterenisthe castle of Nevele (16th cent.).
The next station, Adinkerke-La-Panne, is the last in Belgium. La Panne (p. 17) lies l'/2 M. to the N.W. (tramway, see p. 16). — Ghyvelde is the first French station. Then, Zuydcote, Rosendael.
67 M. Dunkirk, French Vunkerque (Chapeau Rouge, Rue St. Sebastien, R. from 4, B. 11/4, de"j. 3, D. 31/2. °TMn- * fr-5 H6tel de Flandre), a strongly-fortified town with 38,900 inhab., in the De'partement du Nord, is now a busy commercial place and fishingstation. A small English colony resides here (English church). Among the objects of interest are the Gothic Church of St. Eloi (fine stained glass), the Belfry (295 ft.), with chimes, the Town Hall (1896-1901), and the statue, by David d'Angers, of Jean Bart (1651-1702), the famous sailor and privateer of Dunkirk. Atramway (25 c.) runs to the N.E. to Malo-les-Bains, a sea-bathing resort. Comp. Baedeker's Northern France.
3. From Bruges To Courtrai, 33 M., railway in I'/a-i^a nr(faros 4 fr. 5, 3 fr. 6, 2 fr. 5 c). Carriages are changed at Roulers.
Bruges, see p. 20. — 11M. Thourout, see p. 40. —14M. Lichtervelde, see p. 44. Then Gits and Beveren.
19M. Roulers, Flem. Roeselaere (90 ft.; Due de Brahani), a town with 23,100 inhab., high above which rises the handsome Gothic tower of the church of St. Michael. Roulers carries on a busy trade in linen goods. Here, on 13th June, 1794, a fierce conflict took placo between the Austrians under Clerfait, and the French under Pichcgru and Macdonald, in which the latter were victorious. This defeat was the prelude to that of Fleurus (p. 238), thirteen days later.
Branch Link To Ypees, 14 M., in i/2-»/« hr. (fares 1 fr. 75, 1 fr. 35, 90 c). Stations Moorslede-Passchendaele, Zonnebeke, Ypres (p. 40). — From Roulers To Menin, 11 M., branch - railway in 22-27 min. (fares 1 fr. 75 c, 1 fr. 15, 70 c). Stations Beythem, Ledeghem-Dadizeele, Menin (p. 49). — To Hooglede and to Thielt, see p. 44.
21 M. Rumbeke possesses a fine Gothic church and a chateau of Count Limburg-Stirum. — 23'/2 M. Iseghem, with 9000 inhab., contains numerous linen-factories. Tobacco is extensively cultivated in the environs. Between Iseghem and (26 M.) Ingelmunster, a small town with noted carpet - manufactories, is the handsome chateau of Baron Gilles. From Ingelmunster branch-lines diverge to Hdclt (p. 44) and to Waereghem (see p. 73). — 28 M. Lendelede; 30 M. Heule, with a clumsy Gothic church. Near Courtrai the train crosses the Lys or Leie.
33 M. Courtrai, see p. 73.
6. From Brussels to Courtrai and Ypres.
Railway from Brussels to Courtrai, 55 M., in 1V2-3 hrs. (fares 8 fr. 30, 5 fr. 60, 3 fr. 30 c.); from Courtrai to Ypres, 21 M., in 1 hr. (fares 2 fr. 60, 1 fr. 95, 1 fr. 30 c). — Departure in Brussels from the Station du Nord (p. 83).
From Brussels to (15 M.) Denderleeuw, see p. 2. The line to Ghent and Ostend (R. la) here diverges to the N.W., and that to Grammont and Ath (p. 6) to the S.W. Our line enters E. Flanders, and passes Haeltert, Burst (branch to Alost), and Herzele.
— 27 M. Sotteghem, a small town of 2900 inhab., with several boot and shoe manufactories, is the junction of the Ghent and Grammont line (K. 19) and of a line to Renaix (p. 73). The church contains the tombs of Count Egmont (p. 100), his wife, and his sons.
— Three small stations.
38 M. Oudenaarde, Fr. Audenarde (45 ft.; Hot. du Saumon, Hot. de la Pomme a"Or, both in the market-place and well spoken of; Ville de Oand, H6t. de Bruxelles, with caK-restaurant, both near the station), a very ancient town with 6500 inhab., once celebrated for its tapestries, possesses manufactories of linen and cotton goods. It was the birthplace of Margaret of Parma (b. 1522), regent of the Netherlands under Philip II., a natural daughter of Emp. Charles V. and Johanna van der Gheenst. Under the walls of the town, on 11th July, 1708, the Allies commanded by Marlborough and Prince Eugene of Savoy gained a decisive victory over the French. — An hour is sufficient for a visit to the beautiful Hotel de Ville, or town-hall.
The street to the right, nearly opposite the station, leads in 10 min. to the centre of the town. At the entrance to the town stands a Monument to volunteers from Oudenaarde who perished in Mexico while serving under Emp. Maximilian, by Qeefs (1867).
We next reach the Grand' Place, in which is situated the Town Hall, a small, but very elegant building, erected in the late-Gothic style by H. van Peede and W. de Ronde in 1525-29 and showing traces of the influence of the Hfitel de Ville at Brussels (p. 120). It has recently been restored without and within. The groundfloor consists of a pointed hall borne by columns, and above it are two stories with pointed windows. The tower which rises from the pointed hall in the centre of the facade is particularly rich. It consists of five stories, and is covered with a crown-shaped roof. The numerous statuettes with which the building was once embellished have all disappeared. We ascend the flight of steps, leading to the Salle des Pas Perdus, which contains a late-Gothio chimney-piece by Peter van Schelden. An attendant (50 c.) opens the councilchamber. The portal of this room, a masterpiece of wood-carving, was executed by Paul van Schelden in the Renaissance style in 1531; the handsome late-Gothic chimney-piece is by the same master (1529). — The Van der Straeten Library and Collection of Coins have belonged to the town since 1896.
Behind the Town Hall is the old Cloth HaU.
In the S.E. corner of the Place, to the right as we quit the Town Hall, is the Church of St. Walburga (recently restored), partly in the Romanesque style of the 12th cent., and partly in the Gothic style of the 14th and 15th, with a very prominent transept. The massive and well-proportioned square tower has unfortunately been left unfinished. The interior contains paintings by De Crayer and others, the tomb of Claude Talon, and a rich polychrome reredos of the late Renaissance (first chapel on the N. side).
The church of Notre Dame de Pamele, 6-8 min. farther to the S., on the other bank of the Scheldt, an interesting example of the transition style of the 13th cent., with later additions and an octagonal tower above the cross, has been successfully restored. It contains two sarcophagus-monuments of 1504 and 1616.
Froh Oudenaarde To Deynze, 11 M., steam-tramway In about l1/* hr. (1 fr. 80 or 90c). Stations: Bevere, Oyck, Wantieijhem-Ltdt, Cruyshautm, PeUghem (p. 49). — From Oudenaaede To Mouscron, 23Vt M., railway in l'/t-l*/« hr. (3 fr. 70, 2 fr. 50,1 fr. 45 c). Stations: 11 M. Avelghem (p. 78): 21 M. Heruaux (p. 76); 23'/j M. Moutcron (p. 78).
From Oudenaarde to Ghent or Mont, see p. 78.