« PreviousContinue »
Schools of Southern Methodism. 511
Wiley. President Collins resigned in 1852, and Dr. Wiley was called to the office and held it continuously until 1879, a period of twenty-seven years.
The history of Emory and Henry College is inseparable from the name and memory of Dr. Wiley. In the body of this history we have sought to pay a fitting tribute to his name and worth. The list of the Presidents of the college since the retirement of Dr. Wiley is as follows: John L. Buchanan, 18798O; David Sullius, 1880-85; E. E. Hoss, 1885-86, at the end of which year he resigned to accept a chair in Vanderbilt University; T. W. Jordan, 1886-88; R. W. Jones, 1889; James Atkins, 1889-93; R. G. Waterhouse, who was President for seventeen years, 1893-1910. The period that covered the presidency of Bishop Waterhouse was one of marked prosperity. Within recent years new buildings, new equipment, and some endowment have added much to the strength of the institution. Rev. C. C. Weaver is the President incumbent and is holding the institution up to its historic standard.
Emory and Henry College has given four bishops to the Church—namely, Hoss, Atkins, Waterhouse, and Lambuth.
Martha Washington College.
Martha Washington College, Abingdon, Va., was founded by the Odd Fellows in 1853, being named by them in honor of the wife of the first President of the republic. In 1858 the college became the property, through purchase, of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. It was chiefly through the active influence of Dr. E. E. Wiley that this purchase was made. He afterwards became its President. The first President appointed by the Church was the Rev. W. A. Harris, who began his work in I860. He continued in office until 1866, when he was succeeded by D. Arbogast. In 1871 Dr. W. G. E. Cunnyngham became President. For several years the minutes of the Holston Conference do not indicate the name of the President of Martha Washington College. In the meantime (1875) Dr. Cunnyngham had been elected to the editorship of the Sunday school periodicals of the Church. In 1879 the name of Dr. E. E. Hoss appears in the minutes as President of the college, from which post he went to the presidency of Emory and Henry College. The present head of Martha Washington College is Rev. S. D. Long, D.D., who has enjoyed a prosperous incumbency and has lent much strength and dignity to the name of the institution. New buildings and new equipments have been added under his presidency.
Oth Ek Holston Colleges.
Sullins College, at Bristol, Tenn., was founded by Dr. David Sullins in 1859. It enjoyed much prosperity for a long time and is honored in a list of alumnae extending through nearly two generations. During the past year the buildings of this worthy institution were entirely consumed by fire, and no steps have yet been taken to rebuild them.
Centenary College, at Cleveland, Tenn., was founded by the Rev. George R. Stuart, D.D., in 1885. Dr. Sullins was the first President of this institution and for a number of years directed its interests and filled the presidential chair with great credit to himself and the Church. Few colleges in Methodism have done more solid work for the cause of Christian education. The school has ample buildings, an attractive campus, and has maintained a high-grade curriculum. It is located in a fine field for patronage and has drawn its yearly list of students from the old-time families of the Mississippi Delta and the blue-grass regions of Tennessee. The President now in charge is the Rev. Barney Thompson.
Texas Woman's College. The Texas Woman's College, located at Fort Worth, is the only exclusively woman's college founded and controlled by the Methodists of Texas. It is the lineal successor of an important foundation known as the Polytechnic College. The Woman's College proper began its history with the session of 1914-15. Its second session was begun with the enrollment of three hundred and twenty-one young women, which fact was accepted as conclusive evidence of the need of such an institution in that great State. It stands for the full and rounded education of young women; and in its printed announcements, as also in its brief history, it has fully emphasized a high ideal of Christian education. It is situated on a beautiful eminence in the environs of the prosperous commercial city of Fort Worth. The Schools of Southern Methodism. 513
place is healthful, retired, and homelike. The physical plant of the college is ample and growing. It consists of five brickaud-stone buildings of modern construction and conveniently appointed throughout. The administration building is of imposing proportions and occupies a central location on the campus. The physical laboratory, the biological department, the chemical laboratory, the domestic art laboratory, and the art studio are all exceptionally well equipped, and the teaching of the courses represented by these is thorough and scientific. It is claimed that the gymnasium is one of the best for women to be found anywhere. The college church stands on the southwest corner of the campus. The chaplain of the school is the pastor of this congregation, regularly appointed by the Central Texas Conference. In addition to the college library, the students have access to the large and well-furnished Carnegie Library, in convenient reach. The college issues its own publication and has many other interesting and helpful features, such as a loan fund, available to worthy and needy students at a low rate of interest, and several valuable scholarships. Rev. H. A. Boaz, D.D., who may be said to be the founder of this splendid institution, is its President. The success of Dr. Boaz in raising funds for the beginning of this school is written down as one of the record incidents of fiscal Methodism. Rev. J. D. Young, as Vice President, is the efficient assistant of Dr. Boaz.
Central College Kou Women.
The Central College for Women, Lexington, Mo., was organized in 1869 and was then known as Marvin Female Institute. At that time a property of the Grand Lodge of the Masons of Missouri, called the Masonic College, consisting of buildings and grounds, was by this noble order donated to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, to be used perpetually for educational purposes. The institute then moved into the new quarters thus provided. In 1906 the college was reincorporated as Central College for Women. The high purpose of this school, as announced in its catalogue, is "the building of Christian character, the symmetrical development of the mental powers, and the care of the body." The college is beautifully located upon historic ground in the city of Lexington, overlooking the Missouri River. In addition to an endowment of $90,000 already invested, steps are being taken to increase the foundation to $300,000. It is well equipped with buildings, dormitories, library, and other college accessories. Rev. Z. M. Williams, A.M., D.D., is now the President of Central College for Women and has successfully occupied that post for a number of years.
Through the help of Bishop Charles Betts Galloway the institution for women, located at Searcy, Ark., bearing his name, was chartered May 'A, 1888. From the outset Galloway College was the property of the three Conferences located within the bounds of the State of Arkansas. The first President was Rev. R. W. Irwin, whose untimely death prevented his ever becoming President in fact. He was succeeded by Rev. Sidney H. Babcock, through whose very earnest efforts and the invaluable help of his wife the school had its beginning and was started on its work of genuine collegiate education for the young women of Arkansas. Following his resignation, Dr. John H. Dye was President for four years and a half, and he in turn gave place to Dr. C. C. Godden. It was during the presidency of the latter that the school gained such a strong hold on the State that its life as a woman's college seemed assured. Dr. Godden's administration was very much hampered by reason of a large debt, but during his term of service he succeeded in paying almost the entire amount. He was active in the work for ten years and a half. At the expiration of that time, feeling that his age prevented his doing as much as he liked for the school, he tendered his resignation and was followed by President J. M. Williams, who has already finished his ninth year in charge.
In 1898, while the Little Rock Conference was in session, during the early part of Dr. Godden's administration, the college was completely destroyed by fire; but in the ensuing September, through the wonderful business ability of Dr. Godden. the school was opened and enrolled a large student body.
Galloway has recently secured, through the help of Rev. W. C. Watson, of the Little Rock Conference, a building-and-enSchools of Southern Methodism. 515
dowinent fund which now amounts to nearly $100,000. This has not yet been collected, but is in the form of bankable paper. There is a faculty of twenty-two members. Fourteen units are required for admission, and four years of college work is done by every student who takes the A.B. degree, which is the only degree the college confers. Besides the regular work, thorough instruction is given in the departments of music, expression, art, and domestic science. The school annually enrolls about two hundred young women. It is a college of the B Class, according to the classification of the General Board of Education, and meets the full requirements for this work.
Kentucky Wesleyan College.
Kentucky Wesleyan College was founded at Millersburg, Ky., in 1866. Rev. W. C. Daudy, Rev. Daniel Stevenson, Rev. John H. Linn, Rev. John W. Cunningham, Rev. John C. Harrison, Rev. Robert Hiner, David Thornton, Moreau Brown. Hiram Shaw, B. P. Tevis, William Nunn, and A. G. Stitt were charter members of the Board of Education.
The following is a list of the Presidents of the institution: Rev. Charles Taylor, A.M., M.D., D.D., 1866-70; Rev. B. Arbogast, A.M., 1870-73; John Darby, Ph.D., 1873-75; Rev. T. J. Dodd, D.D., 1875-76; Rev. W. H. Anderson, A.M., M.D., D.D.. 1876-79; D. W. Batson, A.M., 1879-83; Rev. Alexander Redd. A.M., D.D., 1883-84; D. W. Batson, A.M., 1884-93; B. T. Spencer, A.M., Chairman of the Faculty, 1893-95; Rev. E. H. Pearce, A.M., D.D., 1895-1900; executive duties administered by faculty, 1900-01; Rev. John Langdon Weber, D.D., Lit.D., 1901-06: H. K Taylor, A.M., 1906-09; John J. Tigert, A.B., A.M. (Oxon.), 1909 11; Rev. J. L. Clark, A.B., D.D., LL.D., 1911-16.
The officials believing that the growing town of Winchester offered a more ideal location for a college, the Wesleyan was moved from Millersburg to Winchester in 1890.
The property value of the Wesleyan is $125,000. The campus consists of eight acres, beautifully located. The college plant comprises six buildings—the Administration Building, Dormitory, Library, Gymnasium, President's cottage, and Academy.
The Wesleyan has an endowment of more than $100,000.