« PreviousContinue »
Condeskeag, Canoe, Country, Masonic and Madockawanda clubs, and Hannibal Hamlin Post, Grand Army of the Republic. He is a Republican, and an attendant of Central Congregational Church. He married, in 1891, Mrs. Helen D. Burton Mealley, daughter of Isaac Burton, of Lincoln. No children.
In the early settlement of New CARTER England various immigrants
named Carter appeared among the pioneers. From them has sprung the greater part of the great number of the name now residing in this country. The revolutionary rolls show that many Carters were soldiers in the struggle for independence.
(I) Thomas Carter may have been first a settler of Ipswich, later he was an original settler of Sudbury, Massachusetts, and was made a freeman May 2, 1638. He was a "planter" of Salisbury, and received land in the "first division," and in 1640. He was townsman and commoner in 1650, and was taxed then and later. His will, made October 30, was probated November 14, 1767. His wife's name was Mary. Their children were: Mary, Thomas, Martha (died young), Martha, Elizabeth, John, Abigail, Samuel and Sarah.
(II) John, sixth child and second son of Thomas and Mary Carter, was born May 18, 1650, in Salisbury, and took the oath of allegiance and fidelity at Salisbury in December, 1677. He was a soldier sent to Marlborough about 1689, and was living in 1718. His wife, Martha, died in Salisbury, March 10, 1718. Their children were: Mary. Thomas, Abigail, John, Samuel, Mary and Ephraim, next mentioned.
(III) Ephraim, seventh and youngest child of John and Martha Carter, was born November 2, 1693, and resided in Salisbury as late as 1718, and probably for years afterward. He was the first Carter to settle in Concord, New Hampshire, whither he went about 1740. Tradition states that he went to Concord on horseback, taking his youngest child, Abigail, behind him on a pillion, she being then eleven years old. When they left South Hampton, where they then resided, the neighbors expressed great sympathy for them; gathered around and wept when they bade them farewell to go so far into the wilderness. Reaching Sugar Ball Hill, near Concord, they chained the wheels of the cart containing their goods, to get them down the hill safely; transported their goods over the Merrimac in a canoe, swimming the oxen ; then fastening bed
cords to the tongue of the cart, dragged it across the river. In 1746 Ephraim, Ezra and Joseph Carter were in the garrison round the house of Lieutenant Jeremiah Stickney, in Concord. In 1761 thirty-nine citizens of Concord, among whom were Jeremiah Stickney, Timothy Walker, Nathaniel Eastman and "Epram Carter," mast contractors, petitioned the governor, Benning Wentworth, and his council to remove the obstructions from the Merrimac river, so that they might more advantageously transport their masts down the river. Ephraim Carter married Martha Stevens, supposed to have been the daughter of John and Ruth (Poor) Stevens, of Andover, Massachusetts. John Stevens was born in Andover, in 1663, son of Lieutenant John and Hannah (Barnard) Stevens, and grandson of John Stevens, the immigrant, who moved from Newbury to Andover, Massachusetts, about 1645. Ephraim and Martha had: Ezra, Daniel, Ezekiel, Joseph and Abigail, and perhaps other children.
(IV) Daniel, second son and child of Ephraim and Martha (Stevens) Carter, was born in Salisbury, and settled in Concord, New Hampshire, about 1750, near what was later called the Ironworks. He had lived some time in South Hampton, New Hampshire, and at the time of his going to Concord he had three children. He married Hannah Fowler, of Salisbury, Massachusetts. Their children were: Ezra, Molly, Daniel, Hannah, John, Moses and Anna.
(V) Jacob, son of Daniel and Hannah (Fowler) Carter, was a revolutionary soldier. He served as a drummer in Captain Joshua Abbott's company in Colonel John Stark's regiment, the date of his enlistment being April 24, 1775. and August 1, 1775, receipted for pay for three months and fifteen days, a coat and a blanket and mileage for seventy miles travel. October 4 of the same year, at Medford, he was one of those who receipted for four dollars "in full satisfaction for the regimental coat which was promised to us by the Colony of New Hampshire." His name is on "A Roll of Captain Benj'n Emery's Company in Colo Baldwin's Regiment which was raised to reinforce the Continental army at New York Sept. 20, 1776, as Musyer'd & paid by Colo Thomas Stickney muster master & paymaster of said Company." He is described as "drummer" on the "Pay Roll of Captain Joshua Abbot's Company in L't Col Henry Gerrish's Regiment New Hampshire Volunteers which Company marched from Concord and towns Adjacent Sept'r 1777 and join'd the Northern Continental Army at Saratoga." History states that he was at Bunker Hill and Saratoga. He was discharged after the surrender of Burgoyne. He was a miller and farmer. He erected the first brick building in Concord in 1804, the same house that was the foundation building of St. Paul's school, but never occupied it. His death occurred in 1805. He married Sarah Eastman, and they had: Susanna (died young), Susanna, Moses, Sally, Ruth, Abiel, Anna, Jacob and Ebenezer. Sarah Eastman, born in Concord, New Hampshire, August 8, 1757, was the daughter of Moses and Elizabeth (Kimball) Eastman (see Eastman IV). After the death of her husband Mrs. Carter lived on the homestead two years and then married (second) Captain Colby.
(VI) Jacob (2), second son of Jacob (1) and Sarah (Eastman) Carter, born at Millville near the present St. Paul's school, Concord, New Hampshire, June 4, 1796, died in Concord, March 13, 1881, aged eighty-five. The following account of Mr. Carter is taken from the Independent Statesman, published at Concord, March 17, 1881: "In 1806 Jacob went to Norwich, Vermont, to live with his eldest sister, Mrs. Susanna Duncklee, and attended school at Hanover, one year. In 1808 or 1809, he went to Sanbornton, where his mother lived, and remained there until April, 1811, when he went to Lebanon, to learn the joiner's trade of Captain Young, but as he was chiefly employed in chores, he did not remain long, but soon went to live with another sister, Mrs. Sally Roby, in Hanover, where he attended school six months, doing chores for his board. Here he commenced to learn the trade of watchmaker of a Mr. Copp, remaining about a year when he returned to Concord and learned the trade of silversmith, goldsmith, and clockmaker, with the late Major Timothy Chandler, whose shop was on Main street. He remained with Major Chandler until the fall of 1814, when he went to Portsmouth as a volunteer in the Concord Artillery for the defence of that port, and served about a month, for which he received a pension a few of his last years." Potter's History of New Hampshire, page 219, shows that Jacob Carter enlisted September 10, 1814, and was discharged September 29, 1814, serving in Captain Peter Robinson's company of Major Nathaniel Sias's battalion of detached militia. "Soon after returning from Portsmouth he went to Hanover to learn watchmaking of a Mr. Mitchell, for whom he worked three months for $5 a month and board, and one year for $8 a month and board. He then went to Plattsburg, New
York, and worked a while at his trade with his brother-in-law, John Robie, and finally took his business and carried it on for a year, part of the time in company with the late Ivory Hall, for whom he sent in the fall of 1816. The latter being taken sick and insane for a time, Mr. Carter closed out his business in the fall of 1817, and with twenty dollars in his pocket started on foot for Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, a distance of about four hundred miles, where his brother, Rev. Abiel Carter, was then living. He took a schooner at Ogdensburg for Sackett's Harbor, and walked from there to Utica, New York, where he tried for work, but could obtain none, and then walked on to Buffalo, where they were just breaking ground for the Erie canal. There he waited for a steamer several days, and then walked on to Erie, one hundred miles, and thence to Meadville, Pennsylvania, when, as his funds were getting low, he and another man who was a carpenter and out of funds, built a boat of a few boards, caulking it with flax, and started down French creek to the Alleghany river, and reached Pittsburg on the third. He worked for a watchmaker in that place, by the name of Perkins, a year for twenty-five dollars a month and board, and was in company with him for another year, when the firm was broken up through some flurry in the United States Bank. He then went to Cincinnati and Louisville, where he found a captain of a barge bound for St. Louis, with whom he took passage, and from the latter place he started up the Mississippi river, April 20, for the Falls of St. Anthony, with government supplies for the Indians, and their boat stopped near what is now the site of Fort Snelling. For this trip he was to receive two dollars a day, but his employer proved dishonest, and he received nothing, and they were five months making the trip, up and back, to St. Louis. On his return to the latter city he was taken sick with fever and ague, and he remained there until November, when he went down the Mississippi river to Natchez, where he obtained work at his trade with a Connecticut man named Downs, with whom he remained until the next June, receiving sixty-five dollars for his services. He then went to New Orleans, and sailed in a schooner for Boston, the passage occupying forty-three days. In 1821 he commenced business at Hanover, and continued there until 1828, and during his residence there commanded the cavalry in the Twentieth Regiment State Militia, "In the fall of 1828 he removed to Amesbury, Massachusetts, where his brother, the late Dr. Moses Carter, then resided, and was appointed postmaster of that town in the fall of 1829, by President Jackson, and held that office four years. In the fall of 1833 he removed to East Concord and engaged in mill and lumber business for a year, with a brother, but the business not proving profitable, in 1834 he came to this part of Concord, then known as the "Street," and worked at his trade some for one year, when he bought a stock of goods and watch materials and went to northern Alabama and spent the winter, returning to Concord the next June. In October, 1836, he went to Mississippi with another stock of goods, and also in 1837, and had one thousand dollars of Mississippi money when the banks of that state went down. He bought some horses with another man named Sherman, and started for Washington with an emigrant wagon, July 1, 1837. The weather was very warm, and they started usually at daylight and drove three hours, and about the same time at night, and reached Fredericksburg, Virginia, with their horses in improved condition, sold his team, and took a steamer to Washington, and from there home, which ended his trading expeditions. He established the watch and jewelry business in Concord in the fall of 1837, in the Old Eagle Coffee House, and remained in business until 1853, when he sold out to his son Abiel and George W. Drew. He resumed business again a few years later, and continued it until 1874, when he retired. Mr. Carter was appointed postmaster of Concord by President Pierce in 1853, and was reappointed by President Buchanan in 1857, and held the office until 1860, discharging the duties in an eminently satisfactory manner to the public. He served as representative in the legislature in the year 1845-46, and was a trustee of St. Paul's school ever since it was founded. He took his first degrees in Masonry in Pittsburg during his residence there, more than sixty years ago; Chapter degrees in 1822, and commandery in 1824, both of the latter in Hanover, and he was an active and honorary member of Mt. Horeb Commandery of this city, and honorary member of Trinity Commandery, at Manchester. He was probably the oldest Sir Knight in the state at the time of his death." He died at the residence of his son-in-law, William W. Taylor, in Concord, Sunday, March 13, 1881, after a short illness of neuralgia of the heart. "The death of 'Uncle Jacob* Carter removes from our city one of its oldest native born citizens, who has had an eventful life, as this sketch given substantially as told to us four years ago, will
show, and an estimable man who enjoyed the love and respect of his fellow citizens to an eminent degree, and whose life was a benediction to his family and friends. The evening of his life has been made exceedingly pleasant by his children, and he fully appreciated all that was done for him. A good man in all the relations of life has departed from our midst." His funeral, conducted by the Masons, was very largely attended, and the procession which followed his body to the grave was a very imposing one.
Jacob Carter married, in Hanover, in 1824, Caroline Ramsdell, born July 7, 1799, daughter of Samuel and Mary Ann (Belden) Stocking, of Middle Haddam, Connecticut. (See Stocking VII.) She died in Concord, February 23, 1874, aged seventy-five. She was a fitting companion for her husband, cheerful, intelligent and resourceful, and brought up her children in the way they should go. The children of this union were: Caroline Elizabeth, Abiel, Clara Anna and John William Dodge. The last named is the subject of the next paragraph. Caroline Elizabeth, born May 3, 1826, married, September 7, 1847, William Wallace Taylor, of Concord ; children: Henry Shattuck, born June 5, 1849, ined Jub' 3, 1856; Harry Carter, born April 2, 1865, married, April 2, 1888, Sarah Gertrude Glysson, child, William Walbridge, born January 30, 1892. Abiel, November 6, 1827, married Martha Vesta Emery, October 24, 1850, and resided in Portland, Maine, where he died July 3, 1898. Clara Anna, December 9, 1837, married George Edward Tinker, of New Berne, North Carolina, December 4, 1873, and died February 23, 1907.
(VII) John William Dodge, youngest child of Jacob (2) and Caroline R. (Stocking) Carter, was born in Concord, April 30, 1840. He was educated in Concord, and afterward learned the jeweler's trade while in the employ of the American Watch Company, Waltham, Massachusetts. In August, 1864, he removed to Portland, Maine, where he has since resided. Since 1898 he has been president and treasurer of Carter Brothers Company, watchmakers and jewelers, one of the leading institutions of its kind in the state. He married, October 3, 1870, Agnes Hudson, of Airdrie, Scotland, born January 16, 1842, daughter of Thomas and Jane (Anderson) Hudson, of Rawyards. Scotland. Thomas Hudson was the son of Alexander Hudson, a native of Fife, Scotland; Jane Anderson was daughter of John Anderson, who was born in Airdrie, Scotland.
The family bearing this STOCKING patronymic is one long resident in Great Britain, and probably descended from some Saxon named Stock or something like it, the name of Stocking apparently signifying "Son of Stock." The name of the immigrant after he reached America is spelled indifferently on the rolls Stocken, Stockin and Stocking. Only one Stocking is known to have emigrated to this country, and all of the name claim descent from the same ancestor. The family is noted for the independence of action and thought of its individual members, and for its patriotic attitude in the wars of the country.
(I) George Stocking, the immigrant and common ancestor of all the Stockings of this country, was born in county Suffolk, in the southeast part of England, about 1582. He and his wife and four children were dissenters and, were in the company with Rev. Thomas Hooker, which sailed from England in the ship "Griffin," and landed in Boston, September 3, 1633. George Stocking settled in Cambridge, where'in 1635 he built a house at the corner of the present Holyoke and Winthrop streets. May 6, 1635, he was made a freeman. He joined the colony of one hundred souls headed by the Rev. Thomas Hooker which traveled on foot from Cambridge to Connechent river and founded Hartford. He was a prominent proprietor and on the first distribution of lands he received twenty acres, "on the south side of the road from George Steele's, to the south meadow," and other grants later. In local affairs he was an active man; was selectman in 1647; surveyor of highways in 1654-62; chimney viewer in 1659, and was excused from military duty in 1660 owing to "great age." He died May 25, 1683, aged one hundred and one years, it is said, and his name is inscribed on a large monument erected to the memory of Hooker's party, and which now stands in the old Center Church bu1ying ground in Hartford. He married, in England, his wife Anna, the mother of his children. After her death he is understood to have married (second) Agnes (Shotwell) Webster, widow of John Webster, governor of the colony. His children were: Samuel, Sarah, Lydia and Hannah.
(II) Deacon Samuel, only son of George and Anna Stocking, was born in England and came to America in 1633 with his parents and three sisters. In 1650 he removed from Hartford and became one of the founders of Middletown, Connecticut, and was one of the three signers of the Indian deed of Middletown.
His house stood in upper Middletown, now the town of Cromwell. The Middletown church was organized in 1668, and he was elected its first deacon. He was a member of the general court in 1658-59-65-69-74-81; and in King Philip's war he was a sergeant. He was an extensive ship-builder and owner. He died December 3, 1683, and the inventory of his estate subsequently taken amounted to £648 8s. 8d. He married, May 27, 1652, Bethia, daughter of John and Jane Hopkins, and granddaughter of Samuel Hopkins, one of the signers of the "Mayflower" compact, in 1620. She married (second) James Steele, of Hartford. The children of Samuel and Bethia were: Hannah, Samuel, Bethia, John, Lydia, George, Ebenezer, Steven, Daniel, and Joseph and Nathaniel, who died young.
(III) George, sixth child and third son of Deacon Samuel and Bethia (Hopkins) Stocking, was born in Middletown, February 20, 1664. He removed from Upper Middletown to East Middletown (later Chatham, now Portland) before 1710. He died February 17, 1714, and was buried in the old cemetery in Portland. He was one of the committee to build a church, and gave bond March 17, 1710, for the faithful performance of the work. His wife Elizabeth married (second) Deacon Sam. Hall, of East Middletown, and died there November 16, 1787. George and Elizabeth were the parents of six children: Steven, Elizabeth, Samuel, Bethia, George and Nathaniel.
(IV) Captain George (2), fifth child and third son of George (1) and Elizabeth Stocking, was born in Upper Middletown, August 6, 1705, settled in Middle Haddam, and died there in 1790. He had a gristmill in Middle Haddam, the fourth parish of Old Middletown, before 1740. He was commissioned captain of the militia in 1752, and responded to the "Lexington Alarm" as a member of Captain Eleazer Hubbard's company which marched from Glastonbury. He married, March 1, 1727, Mercy Savage, and they had: George, Abner, John, Mary, Hezekiah, Lucy, Martha, Reuben, Mercy (died young) and Mercy.
(V) Reuben, eighth child and fifth son of Captain George and Mercy (Savage) Stocking, was born in Middle Haddam, where he was baptized February 12, 1744. He served as a lieutenant on the privateer "Sampson," in the revolutionary war; was taken prisoner and confined in a British prison ship in New York harbor, and finally released after suffering great hardship. He was afterward taken by Algerine pirates in the Mediterranean, loaded with chains, and held for ransom; being eventually released by the vigorous operations of Commodore Decatur. He resided in Enfield, Connecticut, and thence removed to Chardon, Ohio, where he died October 25, 1828, aged eighty-four. He married, September 19, 1765, Sarah Hurlbut, who died at Hambden, Ohio, February 24, 1840, aged ninety-six. Their children were: Reuben, Samuel, Lucy, Steven, Sally, Vinia, Hezekiah, George, Fanny (died young) and Fanny.
(VI) Samuel (2), second son and child of Reuben and Sarah (Hurlbut) Stocking, was born December 17, 1767, and was a prominent ship-builder in Middle Haddam. He left that place and was a resident successively of Hartford, Suffield, and Enfield, Connecticut, and Cleveland and New Hagerstown, Ohio. He was killed by being thrown from a carriage by runaway horses in 1847, while on a visit to his son. He married (first), April 7, 1789, Mary Ann Belden, a niece of Sir Thomas Belden, of England, who spent some years in Hartford, Connecticut, and built the old Belden House. Had she survived her uncle she would have inherited his estates as Lady Mary Ann. She died May 13, 1805, and Samuel married (second), in 1806, Madame Irene de Mont Fredi, a French woman of considerable property, who owned a market garden near Hartford, and did a prosperous business. His children by the first wife, Mary Ann, were: Almira (died young), Marion, Emily, Amelia, Sarah Ann, Caroline Ramsdell, Almira and Mary Ann. Those of the second wife, Irene, were: Julia Belden, Samuel Marvin, Charles and Hester Ann.
(VII) Caroline Ramsdell, fifth daughter and child of Samuel and Mary Ann (Belden) Stocking, born July 7, 1799, married, April 15, 1824, Jacob Carter, of Concord, New Hampshire. (See Carter VI.)
(For preceding generat1ons see Ebenezer Eastman 1).
(IV) Moses, seventh son of EASTMAN Captain Ebenezer and Sarah (Peaslee) Eastman, born in Concord, February 28, 1732, died in Concord, New Hampshire, April 4, 1812, aged eighty. Guy S. Rix, in the "History of the Eastman Family," states: "During the French and Indian war in September, 1754, he was one of Captain John Chandler's company of scouts, and in 1755 he was sergeant in Captain Joseph Eastman's (his brother's) company of Rangers, who marched to Albany, then to Fort Edward, in the expedition against Crown Point. September, 1762, he was one of Cap
tain Marston's company at Crown Point. Early in the revolution he enlisted as sergeant, April 23, 1775, for three months and sixteen days, in Captain Baldwin's company, in Colonel John Stark's regiment. He was with Stark on the seventeenth of June at the battle of Bunker Hill. During the siege of Boston, in 1775, in consequence of the Connecticut troops retiring at the expiration of their term of enlistment, General Washington sent messages to the committee of safety of New Hampshire for three regiments of militia to be raised immediately for his reinforcements, and within ten days thereafter New Hampshire furnished thirty-one companies of six-weeks men, who, on their arrival at Cambridge, were highly complimented by Washington. The sixth company on the list was from Concord, New Hampshire, had fifty-one privates, three sergeants, three corporals, commanded by Captain Benjamin Emery, of which company Moses Eastman was second lieutenant. These companies of militia were discharged soon after the evacuation of Boston, March 17, 1776. In September, 1777, Moses Eastman again enlisted in Captain Joshua Abbott's company, in Lieutenant Colonel Henry Gerrish's regiment. This company marched to reenforce the Northern Army, and while they arrived too late for the battle of Bennington, they joined the army at Saratoga, and were present at the surrender of Burgoyne. In August, 1778, Moses Eastman again enlisted as sergeant in Captain Aaron Quinby's company of volunteers, in Colonel Moses Kelly's regiment, in the expedition to Rhode Island.'' Following is Mr. Eastman's record as it is taken from the Rolls in the Archives of New Hampshire. Moses Eastman's name is on the "Muster Roll of a company of men in His Majesty's service under command of John Chandler anno 1754." Moses Eastman entered this service September 8, 1754. He was sergeant in "Captain Jacob Eastman's company, Colonel Blanchard's regiment in the expedition against Crown Point. Sergeant Moses Eastman entered this service April 24. 1755. He was also an active participant in the Revolution. On the "Pay Roll of Captain Isaac Baldwin's Company in Col'l John Stark's Regiment to Aug'st 1, 1775," appears the name Moses Eastman, rank sergeant, date of enlistment April 23. The following receipt shows Moses Eastman to have been later in the service: "1775, Oct. 17, Rec'd of Timo Walker, Jr., Ten pounds sixteen shillings L. my (lawful money) for regimental Coats for the nine following Persons vizt Ammi Andrews