\

©&e JFvte ©vamntat Stfjjool,

Situate in St. Agnesgate, was founded in 1546, by Edward VI., and endowed in 1555 by Philip and Mary, with an annual allowance for a head master of 180/., and a house to reside in. The second master's salary is 63/. per annum. Its revenues are under the management of governors, who have the appointment of the masters. Among the eminent men educated at this school are Dr. Porteus, late bishop of London; Dr. M. Hutton, archbishop of York, ancestor of the present Huttons of Marske and Clifton Castle ; Thomas Balguy, D.D., Bishop of Winchester; Admiral Gell; Dr. Dering, prebendary of Canterbury; and a great many respectable characters in the neighbourhood. This was one of the five Yorkshire schools which had the right of send- . ing candidates for the valuable exhibitions of Queen's College, Oxford, founded by Lady Elizabeth Hastings.

The Market Place is very spacious, and nearly square, measuring 104 yards by 98. In the centre is an obelisk, 90 feet high, on the top of which are fixed the arms of Ripon, erected by William Aislabie, Esq. On the south front is inscribed,—

MDCCLXXXI
ERECTED AT THE EXPENCE OF

WILLIAM AISLABIE ESQUIRE,

WHO REPRESENTED THIS BOROUGH

IN PARLIAMENT SIXTY YEARS.

THE MAYOR, ALDERMEN, AND ASSISTANTS

OF RIPON ORDERED THIS INSCRIPTION

MDCCLXXXV

THE HONOURABLE FREDERICK ROBINSON,

MAYOR.

The building on the south side of the market-place was used as a Town Hall, previous to the passing of the Municipal Reform Act. It was built in 1801, at the expense of Mrs. Allanson, of Studley, after a design by Mr. Wyatt, of London. Four Ionic columns support a handsome pediment in the centre of the front. The length of the building is 44ft.; height, 46ft.; depth, 85ft.

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, situate on Coltsgate Hill, was built in 1777; another for the New Connexion of Methodists, in Low Skellgate, was built in 1796 ; the Independent Chapel, in Allhallowgate, was erected in 1818; and a chapel for Primitive Methodists in Priest Lane, in 1821.

The Public Rooms, situate in Low Skellgate, were established in 1833, by shares. The premises are very extensive, and comprise an excellent library, a newsroom, and a large and elegant room, appropriated for public business. The Mechanics' Institute, ' established February 26th, 1831, and the Public DispenSary, instituted February 14th, 1835, are held in a part of these premises.

The General Dispensary is situate in Kirkgate, and was begun in 1790.

Ripon has an annual feast held pn the Sunday following Lammas-day, in honour of Wilfrid, the patron saint; also a good market on Thursdays, and six annual fairs; viz., first Thursday after the 20th day after old Christmas day; May 13th and 14th; first Thursday and Friday in June; Thursday after August 2nd ; first Thursday in November; and November 23rd.

The population of Ripon and Bondgate, according to the census taken in 1831, was as follows :—

[table]

STUDLEY ROYAL.*

This beautiful and extensive domain is situated nearly three miles south-west of Ripon; and, by the liberality of the possessor, is open every day till five o'clock in the evening, Sundays excepted. On entering

* GENEALOGICAL DESCENT OF THE LORDS OF STUDLEY.

In the year 1180 Richard de Aleman was lord of Studley Royal. He was succeeded by his son

Walter, who gave to the monks of Fountains, and all that belonged to them, free passage over his land there. He also gave them his lands in Swanley. William, his brother, was likewise a benefactor to the monastery: Walter was sue ■ ceeded by his son,

Sir John de Aleman, who was living in 1230, and whose wife, Alice, after his death, married William de Hebbedene. He gave his mill at Malham to the monks of Fountains for the good of the poor, and was otherwise a benefactor to the monastery. His granddaughter

Isabel de Aleman married John le Grass, who became in her right lord of Studley. They had issue

Sir John le Grass, who, by his wife Paulina, had issue an only daughter and heiress, Isabel, wife of sir Richard Tempest, second son of sir J. Tempest, of Bracewell. Their son

Sir William Tempest of Studley {jure mains) married Eleanor, daughter and sole heiress of sir William Washington of Washington, in the county of Durham, who died January 2nd, 1451. Their eldest son,

William Tempest, Esq. of Studley, died January 4th, 1444. We do not find the name of his wife; but he had issue by her three children,—John who died an infant; Diouisia; and Isabel, born in 1425, afterwards the wife of Richard Norton of Norton Conyers, Esq.

Diouisia Tempest, the eldest daughter and coheir, was 36 years of age, 24tht of October, 1451: she married William Mallory, Esq. of Hutton Conyers.

Sir John Mallory their son, by Elizabeth, daughter of Sir William Hammerton, knt., or as some say, Isabel, daughter of Mr. Curwen of Cumberland, (a knightly race, lineally descended from Ivo de Tailboys, and the Saxon kings.)

Sir William Mallory of Studley, knt., his eldest son, by Joan his wife, daughter of sir John Constable of Halsham, had issue

Sir John Mallory of Studley, knt. He married four wives, and had issue by all. We can, however, in the present sketch, mention but his first, Margaretx daughter of Edmund Thwaites, Esq. of Lonnd.

the park, (containing 500 acres,) through the grand gateway, the first ideas which are excited in the mind are highly pleasing. A vista above a mile in length,

Sir William Mallory, their eldest son, married Jane, daughter of sir John Norton of Norton Conyers. His great grandson,

William Mallory, Esq., by Dorothy his wife, daughter of sir James Bellingham of Levens, in co. Westm,, had issue William, who married, but died,a.p.; John; and Alice, who was married at Studley, November 22nd, 1627, to Richard Aldbrough of Aldbrough* Esq.

Sir John Mallory, the second, but eldest surviving son, was, during the civil wars, governor of Skipton Castle for the king, and colonel of a regiment of dragoons. He married Mary, daughter and coheiress of John Moseley, Esq., Lord Mayor of York in 1602; and died January 23rd, 1655, aged 45, probably of a contagious disease, for he was buried the day following in the family chapel, in Ripon Minster. By his lady, who survived him forty-six years, he had issue William, who died February 9th, and buried 15th, 1666, s. p.; Alice, who is said to have died unmarried; Mary; Elizabeth, wife of sir Cuthbert Heron of Chipchase, bart., now represented by the Adairs; Ann and Ursula, who died young; and Jane, wife of Arthur Ingram, esq., of Borrowby, who died in 1698, leaving issue.

Mary, the eldest surviving daughter of sir John Mallory, married Mr. George Aislabie of York, Principal Registrar in the Archiepiscopal Court there, son of Mr. Robert Aislabie of Osgodby, Yorkshire. He was shot in a duel by sir Jonathan Jennings of Ripon, in what is now called Penley Grove, in York, on the morning of the 10th of January, 1674, and was buried in the cathedral. Their issue was George Aislabie, who died s,p. ,■ John; and Mary, wife of sir William Robinson of Topcliffe Newby, ancestor to the present Earl de Grey.

Iohu Aislabie, second,but eldest surviving son, married, first, Anne, daughter of sir William itawlinson, knt.; secondly, Judith, daughter of sir Stephen Walters, knt. He was Chancellor of the Exchequer in 1718, and several times representative of Ripon in parliament. By his first wife he had issue, first, William; second, Mary, wife of Edmund Waller, Esq., of Beaconsfield, who had issuethird, Jane, wife of sir Henry Slingsby, of Scriven, but died s.p, John Aislabie died 1742, aged 71.

William Aislabie, Esq. his son, born in 1700, was 60 years M.P, for Ripon. He married, first, Lady Elizabeth Cecil, nanghter of the Earl of Exeter, by whom he had issue,

First, John, who died 1765, aged 40; second, William, who died 1758, aged 30; third, Elizabeth; and Anne, wife of William Lawrence, Esq., by whom she had issue William and Elizabeth Sophia. Mr- Aislabie married secondly Elizabeth, daughter of sir Charles Vernon, knt. but had no issue to survive infancy. At his death, which happened in 1781, he was succeeded by his eldest daughter

Ehzabeth, wife of Charles Allanson, Esq. of Bramham Biggin, in Co. Yorks.; but dying without issue the estates, devolved, through the previous decease of her only brother, William Lawrence, in 1785, on

Elisabeth Sophia Lawrence the present proprietor.

shaded on each side with lime trees of stately growth, opens before the visiter. The view is terminated by an obelisk, from which the town and cathedral of Ripon are seen to advantage. On an eminence to the left will be observed the Belvidere or Glass House. On the right is a most delicious and wide-spreading lawn, stretching, by gradual and equal declination, to the Mansion House, which is sheltered by luxuriant timber-trees, that constitute one of the finest back grounds imagination can conceive. This edifice, though it may not be thought to correspond entirely either in grandeur or dimensions with the objects around it, has yet been admired for the commodious arrangement and excellent finishing of its apartments, which are ornamented with a numerous selection of paintings, by the most distinguished masters.

After passing through the park, an extensive lake, covering about twelve acres, presents itself, supplied from the canal within by a wide cascade, having at each extremity a small pavilion. The site of the abbey being entirely enclosed, it can only be seen by application to the guides, some of whom are always in attendance to conduct visiters through the grounds and to the abbey, ■which afford a circuitous walk of nearly four miles.

On entering these delightful grounds, the visiter's attention is directed to a hill completely covered with laurel, which is closely shorn, and presents an unusual breadth of brilliant evergreen. Through the first opening on the left is seen the Roman Wrestlers, and above, in the back ground, is an octagonal tower. The road then winds up, by a gradual ascent, to the Cold Bath, which consists of two apartments, and is constantly supplied by a spring of excellent water. In front of this building are sycamores of amazing growth, and the most luxuriant foliage; likewise the cypress,, the

« PreviousContinue »