Search Images Maps Play YouTube News Gmail Drive More »
Sign in
Books Books 1 - 10 of about 45 related to Shalom, Japan: A Sabra's Five Years in the Land of the Rising Sun.    

Four Mothers: A Novel

Shifra Horn - Fiction - 2000 - 288 pages
This beautifully imagined debut novel tells the story of five generations of women in one family against the backdrop of 100 years in Jerusalem. Starting with the birth of the ...
Limited preview - About this book

Tamara Walks on Water

Shifra Horn, Anthony Berris - Families - 2004 - 250 pages
A beautifully written, sensual and evocative book, in the tradition of Amy Tan and Isabelle Allende, rich in magic realism and folklore. 'To understand the end you have to look ...
Snippet view - About this book

Ode to joy

Shifra Horn - Fiction - 2005 - 264 pages
Following a terrorist explosion on a bus in Jerusalem, Yael, a married mother who narrowly escaped the attack, is haunted by the last image she recalls before the horror: a ...
Snippet view - About this book

The fairest among women

Shifra Horn - Fiction - 2001 - 356 pages
Praise for Shifra Horn: 'poignant, earthy and engaging' Daily Telegraph 'a wonderfully lush novel reminiscent of Isabel Allende...compulsively readable' Jewish Chronicle 'You ...
Snippet view - About this book

A Voice from Japan: An Outsider Looks in

Carolyn Meyer - Juvenile Nonfiction - 1992 - 240 pages
The author relates her visit to Japan where she interviewed adults and children and recorded their feelings about life in a country experiencing drastic changes in lifestyle.
Snippet view - About this book

A Robe of Feathers: And Other Stories

Thersa Matsuura - FICTION - 2009 - 208 pages
In Japan, the line that divides myth from reality is not merely blurred, it is nonexistent. Superstitions, legends, and folk myths are passed down through generations and ...
Limited preview - About this book

In the Land of the Rising Sun ...

2009 - 24 pages
Limited preview - About this book

36 Views of Mount Fuji: On Finding Myself in Japan

Cathy N. Davidson - Biography & Autobiography - 2006 - 248 pages
Memoir of the author's travels in Japan offers moving, perceptive stories that help illuminate the nature of culture and identity.
Limited preview - About this book




  1. My library
  2. Help
  3. Advanced Book Search