Everything to Lose: A Novel

Front Cover
HarperCollins, Apr 22, 2014 - Fiction - 336 pages
100 Reviews

A determined mother becomes entangled in a murderous conspiracy to keep a twenty-year-old secret buried in this blistering thriller, set during the tragic aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, from Andrew Gross, the New York Times bestselling author of 15 Seconds and No Way Back

While driving along a suburban back road, Hilary Cantor, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her to care for her son who has Asperger's, witnesses a freakish accident when a deer suddenly darts in front of the car ahead of her. The driver careens down a hill and slams into a tree. Rushing to help, she discovers the car smoking, the driver dead—and a satchel on the floor stuffed with a half million dollars.

That money could prevent her family's ruin and keep her son in school. In an instant, this honest, achieving woman who has always done the responsible thing makes a decision that puts her in the center of a maelstrom of unforeseeable consequences and life-threatening recriminations. It isn't long before someone comes looking for the money, and as they get closer and closer to Hilary, she is pulled into a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder, an old woman whose entire life has been washed out to sea by the storm, and a powerful figure determined to maintain the secret that can destroy him.

With everything to lose and putting everything she loves at risk, Hilary joins up with a dogged police official from Staten Island who has his own connections to the money and is dealing with his family's tragic struggles in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. Together they must fight to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep buried what that money was meant to silence.

Everything to Lose is a propulsive thriller filled with tension and unexpected twists. Pitting an ordinary woman against powerful and desperate figures, this explosive and heartbreaking tale of suspense will appeal to readers of Harlan Coben, Lee Child, and David Baldacci.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
24
4 stars
45
3 stars
23
2 stars
7
1 star
1

A great page turner. - Goodreads
The plot was lame and the characters were stupid. - Goodreads
The ending is somewhat poignant and unexpected. - Goodreads
I prefer sad endings, sue me. - Goodreads
Kudos to Andrew for the premise here. - Goodreads
The characters were boring and the plot convoluted. - Goodreads

Review: Everything to Lose

User Review  - Rebecca Guinn - Goodreads

This was a great story. There is no perfect crime; somebody is always watching and no good deed goes unpunished. I wanted to kick Hilary's rear for not standing up to her ex and then I could not ... Read full review

Review: Everything to Lose

User Review  - Susan Sevcik - Goodreads

Not a predictable story. Very much enjoyed the twists and turns. Read full review

All 2 reviews »

About the author (2014)

Andrew Gross is the author of the New York Times and international bestsellers No Way Back, 15 Seconds, Eyes Wide Open, The Blue Zone, The Dark Tide, Don't Look Twice, and Reckless. He is also coauthor of five number one bestsellers with James Patterson, including Judge & Jury and Lifeguard. His books have been translated into more than twenty-five languages.

Bibliographic information