The Doll

Front Cover
Crown, 2013 - Fiction - 335 pages
19 Reviews
“A heroine every bit as provocative as Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander.” –The Dallas Morning News

Haunted by a life of violence and as proficient with languages as she is with knives, Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and hunter, has built her life on a reputation for getting things done—dangerous and often not-quite-legal things. Born to missionary parents in lawless Africa, taken under the tutelage of gunrunners, and tortured by one of the jungle's most brutal men, Munroe was forced to do whatever it took to stay alive.
The ability to survive, fight, adapt, and blend has since taken her across the globe on behalf of corporations, heads of state, and the few private clients who can afford her unique brand of expertise, and these abilities have made her enemies.
On a busy Dallas street, Munroe is kidnapped by an unseen opponent and thrust into an underground world where women and girls are merchandise and a shadowy figure known as The Doll Maker controls her every move. While trusted friends race to unravel where she is and why she was taken, everything pivots on one simple choice: Munroe must use her unique set of skills to deliver a high-profile young woman into the same nightmare that she once endured, or condemn to torture and certain death the one person she loves above all else.
Driven by the violence that has made her what she is, cut off from help, and with attempts to escape predicted and prevented, Munroe will hunt for openings, for solutions, and a way to strike back at a man who holds all the cards. Because only one thing is certain: she cannot save everyone.
In this high-octane thriller for fans of Lee Child, Stieg Larsson, and Robert Ludlum's Bourne trilogy, Vanessa Michael Munroe will have to fight fast, smart and furiously to overcome a dangerous nemesis and deliver her trademark brand of justice.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
10
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: The Doll (Vanessa Michael Munroe #3)

User Review  - Jenna - Goodreads

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. I am not familiar with the Vanessa Michael Munroe series, but I received this book for free and was thankful for the opportunity. I ... Read full review

Review: The Doll (Vanessa Michael Munroe #3)

User Review  - Amber - Goodreads

Released in paperback earlier this month, The Doll is the third book in the Stevens series featuring heroine Vanessa Michael Munroe. It includes an excerpt of the fourth book, The Catch. This is the ... Read full review

About the author (2013)

TAYLOR STEVENS is the "New York Times" bestselling and award-winning author of "The Informationist" and "The Innocent," both featuring Vanessa Michael Munroe. Her novels have received critical acclaim, have been published in twenty languages, and "The Informationist" has been optioned for film by James Cameron's production company, Lightstorm Entertainment. Raised in communes across the globe and denied an education beyond the sixth grade, Stevens broke free of the Children of God and now lives in Texas, where she is currently at work on the next Munroe adventure.

Bibliographic information