Promises of Home

Front Cover
Ballantine Books, Jan 1, 1996 - Fiction - 271 pages
13 Reviews
In a small Texas town, murder brings home the unforgotten past.
Twenty years ago, as Hurricane Althea lashed Central Texas, twelve-year-old Jordan Poteet and his friends decided to ride it out in their tree house. But in the still eye of the tempest, they raced for safety--and stumbled over the body of a beautiful girl.
Now, the six schoolmates who shared the grisly sight of death so long ago are being coolly murdered, one by one, day by day. By whom? Why? Unless Jordan and Police Chief Junebug Moncrief, another survivor of the storm, can answer those questions fast, it will be their turn to die. . . .

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Promises of Home (Jordan Poteet #3)

User Review  - BB Karo - Goodreads

Slightly worse than the other Poteet book in The Box Under the Stairs. The one redeeming quality I had hoped to take away was the repeated product placement of some brewery in Austin that apparently no longer exists. Oh well. Read full review

Review: Promises of Home (Jordan Poteet #3)

User Review  - Carmen - Goodreads

The sequel to THE ONLY GOOD YANKEE. A very good mystery book. Jordan's childhood friends are being picked off, one by one. Why? Some new people come to town do they have anything to do with it ... Read full review

About the author (1996)

Jeff Abbott (born 1963) is a U.S. suspense novelist. He has a degree in History and English from Rice University. He lives in Austin, Texas. His early novels were traditional detective fiction but in recent years he has turned to writing thriller fiction. His novels include: Do Unto Others (1994) -- winner of the Agatha Award and the Macavity Award (given by Mystery Readers International) for Best First Novel; Black Jack Point (2002), nominated for the Edgar Award (given by Mystery Writers of America) and for the Anthony Award and for the Barry Award; Cut and Run (2003), nominated for the Edgar Award; Panic (2005), nominated for the Thriller Award (given by the International Thriller Writers); and Trust Me (2009). His novel, Panic, has been optioned for film by The Weinstein Company and is in development. His novel, Collision, has been optioned for film by Twentieth Century Fox.

Bibliographic information