The Lost Husband: A Novel

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, 2013 - Fiction - 292 pages
17 Reviews
Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Emily Giffin, this tender and heartwarming novel explores the trials of losing what matters most—and how there's always more than we can imagine left to find.

Dear Libby, It occurs to me that you and your two children have been living with your mother for—Dear Lord!—two whole years, and I'm writing to see if you'd like to be rescued.

The letter comes out of the blue, and just in time for Libby Moran, who—after the sudden death of her husband, Danny—went to stay with her hypercritical mother. Now her crazy Aunt Jean has offered Libby an escape: a job and a place to live on her farm in the Texas Hill Country. Before she can talk herself out of it, Libby is packing the minivan, grabbing the kids, and hitting the road.

Life on Aunt Jean's goat farm is both more wonderful and more mysterious than Libby could have imagined. Beyond the animals and the strenuous work, there is quiet—deep, country quiet. But there is also a shaggy, gruff (though purportedly handsome, under all that hair) farm manager with a tragic home life, a formerly famous feed-store clerk who claims she can contact Danny “on the other side,” and the eccentric aunt Libby never really knew but who turns out to be exactly what she's been looking for. And despite everything she's lost, Libby soon realizes how much more she's found. She hasn't just traded one kind of crazy for another: She may actually have found the place to bring her little family—and herself—back to life.

Praise for The Lost Husband

“A sweet tale about creating the family you need.”People

“A heartwarming novel that explores the trials of losing what matters most.”USA Today

“[Katherine] Center writes endearingly of love and family in her fourth novel, with lessons about loss, gain, standing up for oneself, and accepting that your best is good enough. Fans of well-crafted romantic women's fiction won't be disappointed.”Booklist

“A novel about family, love and forgiveness . . . heart-rending and heartwarming.”Kirkus Reviews
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0

Review: The Lost Husband

User Review  - Jennifer - Goodreads

This was my favorite Katherine Center book. I found myself laughing out loud several times while reading it. Libby is the mother of two young children. She lost her husband three years ago; she has no ... Read full review

Review: The Lost Husband

User Review  - Stacey Nerdin _The Scenic Life - Goodreads

While the book explores themes of loss and change and acceptance, the overall tone is still light and it never tries too hard to teach A Lesson. There is a lot of heart, the characters are likable ... Read full review

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
21
Section 3
34
Section 4
45
Section 5
56
Section 6
66
Section 7
78
Section 8
88
Section 15
156
Section 16
165
Section 17
181
Section 18
188
Section 19
202
Section 20
209
Section 21
225
Section 22
234

Section 9
98
Section 10
103
Section 11
116
Section 12
124
Section 13
134
Section 14
149
Section 23
252
Section 24
268
Section 25
286
Section 26
291
Copyright

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Katherine Center is the author of three novels about love and family: The Bright Side of Disaster, Everyone Is Beautiful, and Get Lucky. Her books and essays have appeared in Redbook, People, USA Today, Vanity Fair, Real Simple, the Dallas Morning News, and the Houston Chronicle--as well as the anthologies Because I Love Her, CRUSH, and My Parents Were Awesome. Center is a graduate of Vassar College and the University of Houston's Creative Writing Program. She lives in Houston with her husband and two young children.

Bibliographic information