His Majesty's Hope: A Maggie Hope Mystery

Front Cover
Random House LLC, 2013 - Fiction - 354 pages
235 Reviews
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.

World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.

“You'll be [Maggie Hope's] loyal subject, ready to follow her wherever she goes.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
  

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
69
4 stars
106
3 stars
54
2 stars
5
1 star
1

Love the plot and various threads. - Goodreads
And the ending is unsatisfying. - Goodreads
Maggie's character development is a joy to watch. - Goodreads
The plot did have some weaknesses though. - Goodreads
The writing style and story are more developed. - Goodreads
A bit rushed for the ending. - Goodreads

Review: His Majesty's Hope (Maggie Hope Mystery #3)

User Review  - Carl Brookins - Goodreads

This excellent historical novel is, of course, fiction all the way, although it is set during one of the world's greatest real upheavals. It should appeal to readers interested in World War II, in spy ... Read full review

Review: His Majesty's Hope (Maggie Hope Mystery #3)

User Review  - Sally Schmidt - Goodreads

I'm really loving this series! I think it's perfect for fans of Rhys Bowen. They're a curious but wonderful mix of spy novel and "cozy" mystery, so don't go in expecting James Bond. I thought that the ... Read full review

Related books

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
7
Section 2
22
Section 3
35
Section 4
48
Section 5
65
Section 6
85
Section 7
103
Section 8
113
Section 17
233
Section 18
247
Section 19
258
Section 20
263
Section 21
268
Section 22
277
Section 23
289
Section 24
298

Section 9
121
Section 10
129
Section 11
145
Section 12
165
Section 13
183
Section 14
200
Section 15
215
Section 16
225
Section 25
302
Section 26
308
Section 27
316
Section 28
323
Section 29
333
Section 30
337
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Susan Elia MacNeal is the author of the Maggie Hope mysteries, including Mr. Churchill's Secretary, Princess Elizabeth's Spy, and His Majesty's Hope. She lives in Brooklyn, New York, with her husband and child.

Bibliographic information