The Lambs of London: A Novel

Front Cover
Nan A. Talese, 2004 - Fiction - 213 pages
37 Reviews

A tour de force in the tradition of "Hawksmoor" and "Chatterton," Peter Ackroyd's new novel of deceit and betrayal is a witty reimagining of a great nineteenth-century Shakespeare forgery.
Charles and Mary Lamb, who will achieve lasting fame as the authors of "Tales from Shakespeare" for children, are still living at their parents' home. Charles, an aspiring writer bored stiff by his job as a clerk at the East India Company, enjoys a drink or three too many each night at the local pub. His sister, Mary, is trapped in domesticity, caring for her ailing, dotty father and her maddening mother. The siblings' enchantment with Shakespeare provides a much-needed escape, and they delight in reading and quoting the great bard. When William Ireland, an ambitious young antiquarian bookseller, comes into their lives claiming to possess a "lost" Shakespearean play, the Lambs can barely contain their excitement. As word of the amazing find spreads, scholars and actors alike beat a path to Ireland's door, and soon all of London is eagerly anticipating opening night of a star-studded production of the play.
The perfect, lighthearted follow-up to Ackroyd's magnificent biography of Shakespeare, "The Lambs of London" transforms the real-life literary hoax into an ingenious, intriguing drama that will keep readers guessing right to the end.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
9
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
1

Review: The Lambs of London

User Review  - Cynthia Franks - Goodreads

If you are interested in the story of William Henry Ireland and The Great Shakespeare forgery you will like this book. I recommend listening to this one instead of reading it. The prose can be a little dense, but it's a short book. Read full review

Review: The Lambs of London

User Review  - Darcy - Goodreads

In The Lambs of London, as with The Casebook of Victor Frankenstein, Ackroyd delights in creating alternate realities for historically relevant literary people and having those people interact with ... Read full review

Related books

Contents

Section 1
14
Section 2
33
Section 3
49
Copyright

11 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Peter Ackroyd has won many prizes for his fiction including the Somerset Maugham Award and the Guardian Fiction Prize. He is the author of biographies of Dickens, Blake and Thomas More and of the bestselling London: The Biography and Illustrated London, as well as Albion.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information