100 Diagrams that Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the IPod

Front Cover
Plume, 2012 - History - 223 pages
14 Reviews
Recommended by The New York Times Book Review  ["This handsomely designed volume makes a case for the diagrams...provoking many 'aha moments.'"]

A collection of the most important ideas, theories, and concepts of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a fascinating collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and illustrations that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinci’s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the innovation of the iPod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our understanding of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all. 

Beautifully illustrated in full color, this book will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change, or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science, or technology. 
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
1

Interesting reference book. - Goodreads
The writing is uninteresting. - Goodreads
As an overview of world technology, not too shabby. - Goodreads

Review: 100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod

User Review  - Hiatt Zhao - Goodreads

More of a visual history of the world make with diagrams. Interesting reference book. Read full review

Review: 100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod

User Review  - Carrie - Goodreads

I'm sure it would have very interesting information if the font was readable ... Read full review

About the author (2012)

DR. SCOTT CHRISTIANSON is a prize-winning author and investigative reporter who also works in documentary film. He lives in the Hudson Valley in upstate New York.

Bibliographic information