The Accidental Duchess

Front Cover
Berkley Publishing Group, 2014 - Fiction - 389 pages
2 Reviews
From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin. For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn.
When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldn't mind fleecing?and she's confident she'll win.
Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand pounds?a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.
When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruined?or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet #4)

User Review  - Jen - Goodreads

I'm now officially addicted to Regency Romance. Read full review

Review: The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet #4)

User Review  - Goodreads

I'm now officially addicted to Regency Romance. Read full review

About the author (2014)

Sheila Connolly is the New York Times bestselling author and the Anthony and Agatha Award–nominated author of three cozy mystery series. Her bestselling Museum Mysteries are set in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and include Razing the Dead, Monument to the Dead, Fire Engine Dead, Let's Play Dead, and Fundraising the Dead, as well as the short story An Open Book. Her New York Times bestselling Orchard Mysteries are set in small town Massachusetts and filled with delicious apple recipes; those titles include Golden Malicious, Sour Apples, Bitter Harvest, A Killer Crop, Red Delicious Death, Rotten to the Core, and One Bad Apple. Scandal in Skibbereen is the second in her Ireland-based County Cork Mysteries, following New York Times bestselling Buried in a Bog.

Sheila has taught art history, structured and marketed municipal bonds for major cities, worked as a staff member on two statewide political campaigns, and served as a fundraiser for several nonprofit organizations. She also managed her own consulting company, providing genealogical research services. In addition to genealogy, Sheila loves restoring old houses, visiting cemeteries, and traveling. Now a full-time writer, she thinks writing mysteries is a lot more fun than any of her previous occupations.

She is married and has one daughter and two cats.

Bibliographic information