The Accidental Duchess

Front Cover
Berkley Publishing Group, 2014 - Fiction - 389 pages
39 Reviews
From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin. For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn.
When Lady Lydia Alfreton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldn't mind fleecing?and she's confident she'll win.
Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand pounds?a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.
When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruined?or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
11
2 stars
6
1 star
3

I love her prose and the lyrical style of her writing. - Goodreads
Originally posted at Plot Twist Reviews - Goodreads
She writes her stories at just the right pace. - Goodreads
The writing is good. - Goodreads
I love her writing and own all 24 of her books. - Goodreads
Madeline Hunter is a fantastic writer. - Goodreads

Review: The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet #4)

User Review  - Nikki - Goodreads

I wanted to like this couple but no dice. I like a female lead to be a little troublesome but Lydia was quite foolish at times. I like the hero but it doesn't make sense why he'd like the heroine. The ... Read full review

Review: The Accidental Duchess (Fairbourne Quartet #4)

User Review  - Foggygirl - Goodreads

A fairly disappointing read as the two main characters had zero "on page" chemistry and the storyline was generic and flat. Read full review

About the author (2014)

Janet Chapman is the author of more than twenty contemporary and paranormal romance novels, all set in the state of Maine, where she lives with her husband, surrounded by wildlife. Best known for her Highlander series (a family saga of twelfth-century warriors rebuilding their clans in modern-day Maine) and her Spellbound Falls series (an offshoot of the Highlander books), Janet also has several contemporary series set on the coast and in the mountains. With more than three million books printed in six languages, her stories regularly appear on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists. 

Bibliographic information