The Girl who Heard Dragons

Front Cover
Corgi, Jan 1, 1996 - Dragons - 382 pages
17 Reviews
This is a collection of 15 short stories from the author of the "Dragon" series of books. Anne McCaffrey has won both the Hugo and Nebula awards for science fiction and her previous titles include "Power Lines".

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Girl Who Heard Dragons (Pern (Publication Order) #13.5)

User Review  - Kacey - Goodreads

When I was younger, I loved Anne McCaffrey's books. So I thought to check this out and find out if the magic was still there. And in part it was, but the problem was I wanted more from the world of ... Read full review

Review: The Girl Who Heard Dragons (Pern (Publication Order) #13.5)

User Review  - Enzo - Goodreads

Containing a few stories from Anne McCaffrey and the titular story based on Pern. This is a nice fast read. The problem at least with me is I wanted more Pern! But I'm ok with it because it is a nice ... Read full review

About the author (1996)

Anne McCaffrey was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts on April 1, 1926. She received a degree in Slavonic languages from Radcliffe College. She worked in advertising for Helena Rubenstein from 1947 to 1952. Her first publication was a short story in Science Fiction Magazine, and her first novel, Restoree, was published in 1967. She is a well-known author of over 100 books, mostly science fiction, including the Dragonriders of Pern series, the Crystal Singer series, Acorna's Children series, The Twins of Petaybee series, and Barque Cats series. She won numerous awards including the Hugo Award for Best Novella for the short story Weyr Search in 1968 and the Nebula Award for Best Novella for Dragonrider in 1969. In 2006, she was inducted into the Science Fiction Hall of Fame. She has also written books under the pseudonym Jody Lynn. She died of a stroke on November 21, 2011 at the age of 85.

Bibliographic information