Blood Meridian, Or, The Evening Redness in the West

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 1992 - Fiction - 337 pages
1920 Reviews
An epic novel of the violence and depravity that attended America's westward expansion, Blood Meridian brilliantly subverts the conventions of the Western novel and the mythology of the "wild west." Based on historical events that took place on the Texas-Mexico border in the 1850s, it traces the fortunes of the Kid, a fourteen-year-old Tennesseean who stumbles into the nightmarish world where Indians are being murdered and the market for their scalps is thriving.

Publisher's Note: The 25th Anniversary Edition has been reset, causing the text to reflow. Page references based on earlier editions will no longer apply, so Vintage Books has compiled the following chart as a conversion aid. Download the chart by copying and pasting the following link into your browser:

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Very violent, brutal; beautiful, spare writing. - Goodreads
Great prose and amazing use of words and imagery. - Goodreads
Blood Meridian was hard to read. - Goodreads
The plot it utterly devoid of character development. - Goodreads
This is a portrayal of violence and evil. - Goodreads
I enjoyed the luscious prose and the adroit symbolism. - Goodreads
User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This book makes The Road look like a walk in the park ...

Review: Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West

User Review  - Chris Amies - Goodreads

Given his later fondness for WB Yeats titles Cormac McCarthy could just as readily have called this "The Blood-Dimmed Tide" (from "The Second Coming") but that is a title someone else can use. It is ... Read full review

All 56 reviews »


Chapter I
Chapter II
Chapter III

21 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1992)

Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today.  McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968),  Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992, and The Crossing.

Bibliographic information