Where Courage Calls: A When Calls the Heart Novel

Front Cover
Baker Publishing Group, Feb 4, 2014 - Fiction - 336 pages
74 Reviews
Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected...

Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father's wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.

But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she'd feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don't even speak English. There isn't even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth's heart is torn between two young men--both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.

Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she's had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?

A special companion story to Hallmark Channel's When Calls the Heart TV series

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

That made the ending a sweet surprise. - Christianbook.com
The most disappointment was the ending of the story. - Christianbook.com
Janette Oke is, and has always been, a superb writer. - Christianbook.com

Review: Where Courage Calls (Return to the Canadian West #1)

User Review  - Madilyn - Goodreads

Forgot to add this. It's a pretty good book. I wish there was a second one though. I'd like to hear more of the story. *2 minutes after I wrote the review update* There is a sequel coming out in 2015 called Where Trust Lies. I can't wait!!!!!!!!!!!! Read full review

Review: Where Courage Calls (Return to the Canadian West #1)

User Review  - Karin - Goodreads

The story is nice but very superficial. There is way too much religion in this book compared to her earlier books. The love comes softly series was a well-written series and the preaching didn't come til near the end. This one is a preachy book all the way thru. Read full review

About the author (2014)

Celebrated for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry, Janette Oke is the recipient of the 1992 ECPA President's Award, the 1999 CBA Life Impact Award, the Gold Medallion, and the Christy Award. Her novels have sold more than 30 million copies and are beloved by readers around the world. Janette lives with her husband, Edward, in Alberta, Canada.

Laurel Oke Logan, daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie, as well as the novel Dana's Valley, which she co-wrote with her mom. Laurel and her husband have six children and two sons-in-law and live near Indianapolis, Indiana.

Bibliographic information