Shattered Pillars

Front Cover
Macmillan, Mar 19, 2013 - Fiction - 333 pages
20 Reviews

The Shattered Pillars is the second book of Bear’s The Eternal Sky trilogy and the sequel to Range of Ghosts. Set in a world drawn from our own great Asian Steppes, this saga of magic, politics and war sets Re-Temur, the exiled heir to the great Khagan and his friend Sarmarkar, a Wizard of Tsarepheth, against dark forces determined to conquer all the great Empires along the Celedon Road.

Elizabeth Bear is an astonishing writer, whose prose draws you into strange and wonderful worlds, and makes you care deeply about the people and the stories she tells. The world of The Eternal Sky is broadly and deeply created—her award-nominated novella, "Bone and Jewel Creatures" is also set there.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Shattered Pillars (Eternal Sky #2)

User Review  - Kam - Goodreads

Stories come with different speeds. This is something anyone learns once they start engaging actively in any kind of storytelling medium, whether it's television, movies, or printed media. There are ... Read full review

Review: Shattered Pillars (Eternal Sky #2)

User Review  - Joseph - Goodreads

Let me start off by saying that I like the plot of this book, the main characters, and I think Ms. Bear is a wonderful writer. That being said I still had issues with the book. I found the book to be ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

ELIZABETH BEAR was born on the same day as Frodo and Bilbo Baggins, but in a different year. She was the recipient of the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer in 2005. She has won two Hugo Awards for her short fiction, and her Hammered trilogy is a Locus Award winner.

Bibliographic information