The Last Telegram

Front Cover
Sourcebooks, Incorporated, 2013 - Fiction - 405 pages
14 Reviews

"A book to savor."-Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

We all make mistakes. Some we can fix.
But what happens when we can't?

Decades ago, as Nazi planes dominated the sky, Lily Verner made a terrible choice. She's tried to forget, but now an unexpected event pulls her back to the 1940s British countryside. She finds herself remembering the brilliant colors of the silk she helped to weave at her family's mill, the relentless pressure of the worsening war, and the kind of heartbreaking loss that stops time.

In this evocative novel of love and consequences, Lily finally confronts the disastrous decision that has haunted her all these years. The Last Telegram uncovers the surprising truth about how the stories we weave about our lives are threaded with truth, guilt, and forgiveness.

"Sparked my interest from the start...charming."-Sharon Knoth, Between the Covers, Harbor Springs, MI

"This book will easily appeal to fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and I can see it quickly becoming a favorite of book clubs."-Billie Bloebaum, Powell's Books

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: The Last Telegram

User Review  - Kristi - Goodreads

This is a flashback book. Instead of it going back and forth all the time, however, it begins in the present and ends in the present. The middle is the story. It is the story of a young woman during ... Read full review

Review: The Last Telegram

User Review  - Diana - Goodreads

Lily's family have owned a silk factory in England for many generations. After graduation, she works in the factory as a novice, eventually becoming a weaver. World War II becomes a reality which ... Read full review

About the author (2013)

Liz Trenow is a former BBC and newspaper journalist, now working freelance. She is also the author of The Last Telegram.

Bibliographic information