The Watermelon Seed

Front Cover
Disney-Hyperion, May 14, 2013 - Juvenile Fiction - 40 pages
378 Reviews
With perfect comic pacing, Greg Pizzoli introduces us to one funny crocodile who has one big fear: swallowing a watermelon seed. What will he do when his greatest fear is realized? Will vines sprout out his ears? Will his skin turn pink? This crocodile has a wild imagination that kids will love.

With bold color and beautiful sense of design, Greg Pizzoli's picture book debut takes this familiar childhood worry and gives us a true gem in the vein of I Want My Hat Back and Not a Box.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
132
4 stars
171
3 stars
65
2 stars
6
1 star
4

LOVE Pizzoli's artwork and large, bold font! - Goodreads
It takes something silly to get to the ending. - Goodreads
The graphics and story are fun and it's easy to read. - Goodreads
The pictures are cute and the story entertaining. - Goodreads
I love the illustrations in this book. - Goodreads
I loved the illustrations in this story. - Goodreads

Review: The Watermelon Seed

User Review  - Devan - Goodreads

This was a very cute story for young children. The pictures were simple but colorful and told the story by themselves. The character, an alligator, also captured the thoughts and actions of a young ... Read full review

Review: The Watermelon Seed

User Review  - Lauren Brink - Goodreads

Whether I am 5, 15, 20, or 50 I will always enjoy a great picture book. I thought that this book was very eye catching with the bright colors and also thought it was creative to make the book look ... Read full review

About the author (2013)

Greg Pizzoli is an author, illustrator and screen printer. When not chomping down on watermelon, he can be found in his studio or teaching at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia, where he also received his MFA. This is his first book. Visit him at www.gregpizzoli.com.

Awards
2011 52nd Communication Arts Illustration Annual : Self Promotion Category
2011 Society of Children's Book Writers & Illustrators Illustrator Showcase Honor Award

Bibliographic information